GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Amish school shooting

on October 2, 2006

Hello.  Well I am saddened today by the events in Pennslyvania.  I was in the E.R. when Katie Couric came over the news to announce the news.  I feel closer to the Amish since spending time with an Amish family and it seems almost like it happened to a close friend or even family member.  I don't think any of us would have thought the Amish could be touched by such horrors as what happens in the 'real' world like they were today.  I can't even begin to say how much my heart goes out to the families of the girls who were killed or critically injured and not to mention those who were in the school when that man walked into their school.  With all the school shootings recently I am even more adamant in our decision to homeschool and now that these sad events have even reached the Amish it re-affirms my convictions even more.  Most of us think that the Amish are immune to this kind of thing or are better than us but now we see how human they are too.  I am so sorry for their losses and pray for their continual following the Spirit as they heal and repair their hearts and communities. 

 

God bless.

2 responses to “Amish school shooting

  1. Sarah (OCP) says:

    You put it down so eloquently. I wish the people that were affected by this terrible tragedy, could know that we here on the “outside” are praying for them.

    Blessings,
    Sarah

  2. Lori4squaremom says:

    We, as a family, have been praying for all of the families involved in all of the school shootings. We are sending cards to the Amish families, as well as the Roberts family (the family of the shooter….who was not amish, by the way) through MCC (Mennonite Central Committee) ….for more information you can go to the MCC/MDS website.

Comments are closed.
