GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

TEACH magazine: Winter

on January 13, 2009

I had the pleasure of recieving and reading the Winter edition of TEACH magazine.  This season’s theme is The High Calling of Motherhood.  Each season, the magazine is printed 4 times a year, a one year subscription is $25.97 and a two year is $43.97 with a limited time offer of $200 in free gifts.  The price may seem steep at first but the magazine is totally worth it. 

This month’s theme is great because all moms sometimes need the assurance that we are doing the right thing for our families, ourselves and most importantly our Lord.  I know that there are times that I am questioned on being ‘just a mom’, not by myself, but by others sometimes it isn’t spoken but other times it is very vocal.  There are times when I can’t believe there are those out there who question my profession, when I don’t question their’s, but since I am homemaker aparently it is up for discussion even if it shouldn’t be.  When I opened this season’s TEACH magazine I felt a sense of belonging, a comfort, a sigh of release. 

While all the articles ‘speak’ to me in some way, two of them jumped out at me Lady in Waiting and the Greatest Ministry of All.  I want to bring my daughter’s up to be great wives worthy of their husband’s love and respect and eventually to be praised in the gates and blessed by their children.  There is so much pull even at the tender age of almost 7 and 4 to be questioned about what they want to be when they grow up and usually the answer mom or wife isn’t accepted but doctor, nurse or someother outside the home job or career is.  Don’t get me wrong I have no problem with a woman working, but when she is given a spouse by God her main focus should be on her husband, house and if God gives them, children. 

The other was seeing the ministry in being a wife, mom and homemaker.  My heart longs to do foreign and domestic mission work but right now I know that God’s calling for me is to be here.  I am happy here.  I truly love being a mom, somedays are rough and I do loose my patience but I love where I am.  Seeing my place right now as a mission helps to set my vision where it needs to be.

TEACH magazine again has done a wonderful job, from the articles, recipes and numerous reviews for mothering and homeschooling books.  So please don’t miss out on another great issue, go over and check it out for yourself.

