GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Felting Wool

on January 17, 2009

Okay, as if I needed yet another craft to take up more time LOL  I already have a sampler I have been working slowly on for about 2 years (this is between doing bday and Christmas presents for others), Christian’s quilt is still a WIP among the other quilt tops I have that were given to me by my MIL from my DH’s Great (Great?) Grandma.  So yep I needed something else.  Oh, yeah and invites to make for Hannah’s birthday next month.  WOW.  So I found this neat sounding book at a local library:

Felted Wool Fashions: Making New Styles from Old Knits

You can find it Amazon here:  Felted Wool Fashions  It is so easy!  You find a 100% dry clean only wool sweater (I found mine at Good will) and you wash it on hot and then dry it in the dryer.  Then it’s just some simple cutting.  I am going to attempt to make a very pretty purse for Hannah’s birthday.  So that is what I am going to be doing while preparing dinner is washing my sweater and getting it ready to be a purse :)  The neat thing is the leftovers, like the sleeves you can save to make flowers and other small embellishments for other things you may want to make.


3 responses to “Felting Wool

  1. CherylinMA says:

    Great find Sarah! My dd has made felted wool coasters out of her own knitting. I like the idea of starting with something already made though! :)
    Blessings,
    Cheryl

  2. Lightbearer says:

    You mean to tell me all those sweaters I've ruined could actually be used for something?! Ha! Who would have though?! So, now, if in the future, my husband (or me!) dries a wool item, I guess I'll put it aside to be used on a "felted" wool project! Good Luck, Sarah! I hope it turns out nice! Yesterday, I saw a very lovely purse made out of a quilted placemat. It was beautiful! But a bit pricey at $35.

  3. picketfencemom says:

    Hi Sarah,
    Thanks so much for visiting my blog, and for your comment! :) When you're trying to upload a video from youtube to your blog, are you copying the info where it says "Embed"? It should work when you copy and paste this code into "Source" and then click back over to the regular posting screen. :D Hope this helps!
    Blessings,
    Amy

Comments are closed.
