GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Nutcracker December 18th and 19th 2009

on December 31, 2009

The girls and I were in the local production of The Nutcracker though Ohio Performing Arts Institute, it was also the 20th Anniversary for this production!  This was Hannah’s 3rd year and Bethanne’s and I’s first year.  It was a lot of fun and a lot of work – I almost wished we had another performance or two to make it worth all the rehearsal time.  We had two performances on Friday (a matinee for local school children and a night performance) and a Saturday night performance. My brother also performed – it was his 1st year.  Here are some pictures from our time back stage and also greeting my mom.

The girls in their Party Scene dresses:

 

The girls and I in our party scene dresses (sorry about the darkness, the dressing room is quite dark)  I just love the dress Bethanne is in – I’d love to make two of these for the girls for 2010′s production.

Hannah in her mouse costume:

The girls in their Children of the Nations costumes.  I would have preferred a dress but they got stuck being Russians and had to wear pants.  My question is, Russian women never wear dresses?  Oh well, they still made the cutest Russians :) minus the weird faces they are making.

After the show we are allowed to go mingle with the audience my mom came to Friday’s show and gave us beautiful flowers (mine were blue, Hannah’s dark purple and Bethanne’s light purple) all with an attached Nutcracker ornament.  The other picture is the girls and I with my mom.  My husband and Christian also came but well they didn’t make it through the entire show.

My inlaws came to Saturday’s performance they gave each of us a very nice, full sized, Nutcracker.  Mine included a music box playing We Wish You A Merry Christmas.  I forgot to take pictures before we put them in the attic with the rest of the Christmas decorations.

It was a wonderful time and I thoroughly enjoyed the time the girls and I had together.  Christian wants to try out next year and that may be a definite possibility.  One of these days I’d love to have our entire in it with my husband being my dance partner in the Party Scene.  Oh my dance partner this year was a young man of high school age and he made a very nice ornament for me that he gave me after our last performance.

