GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

BirdifulStitches: Padded e-Reader cover (Review)

on November 30, 2010

My blog has been scraped. If you are reading this post on any website other than Growing For Christ you are reading stolen material.

Do you have an e-Reader?  It could be the Kindle (2 or 3), Nook or the iPad – but if you have one but don’t want to shell out the money that is being charged for the ‘designer’ covers then I have the thing for you – a pattern for your own designer cover from Birdiful Stitches.  She has some wonderful patterns at her Etsy store – and she was wonderful to provide me with two (the other I am currently working on and will post another review) patterns. 

I have never used a pattern written by a person like me, usually my patterns come from a major pattern company, but I wanted to step out and I’m glad I did.  The pattern came with 3 pages of step by step pictorial directions – this is great for the both the novice and beginner sewer.  The pattern pieces are included and if you print them off on good quality paper will last you much longer than the major companies will.  The pattern pieces are also color coded so if you are making a cover for the Kindle 2 (like mine) you’d cut on a certain colored line to ensure the size is correct.

The directions could not have been easier to understand and if you’re a visual learner the step-by-step pictures are a major plus.  The pictures are clear and sharp and provide clear answers if something isn’t clear to you in the written directions.  The seller is also available by email should you have other questions after receiving the pattern.  For way less than the cost of a designer cover you can make your own that is suited to your preferences – color, pattern, button, etc – it will be designer!  All it takes is 3 fat quarters, interfacing, batting or fleece (I’ve used both and prefer the fleece), thread, a button and sewing machine if you don’t want to sew by hand.  For my first cover I think I spent less than $10.00 and it took me right around an hour to completely finish the cover from cutting the pieces to inserting my Kindle. The pattern is $6.00 however you are allowed to make others to sell and the best thing is to give them as gifts.  Oh and those are pockets on the left side – two small and one large – how cool is that?

**I was provided a copy of the Padded e-Reader cover by Birdiful Stitches in exchange for my honest review, no other compensation was given.

All content is copyright 2010 by Growing For Christ

2 responses to “BirdifulStitches: Padded e-Reader cover (Review)

  1. [...] make things just for me, which isn’t bad but since I’ve found a wonderful pattern for a padded e-reader cover I couldn’t resist making another one for winter/Christmas.  Since I found a sale on the [...]

  2. Best PC Tablet Reviews and Sales…

    [...]Growing For Christ » Blog Archive » BirdifulStitches: Padded e-Reader cover (Review)[...]…

Comments are closed.
