GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Science Museum Fun

on November 16, 2011

On Friday the 11th the children and I went with my mom to COSI (Center of Science and Industry) which is a cool hands-on children’s museum.  Of course we were hoping schools were in session even though it was Veteran’s Day – but that wasn’t to be but since we drove 40 minutes to Columbus we decided to brave it, little did we know there was a business hosting a conference there as well.  I think the adults in the group forgot they were in a museum geared primarily for children – as they weren’t paying the children any mind.  I digress.  We decided after taking in the 3-D movie African Adventure: Safari in the Okavango to go to lunch at the near by Spaghetti Warehouse – which at 1:30 was also very packed.

There was a Dora the Explorer exhibit and after stopping in and looking around decided that it was too young for my children.  Although Christian and Bethanne did find a couple things that held their interest for a bit – including pictures with Dora, smelling the flowers, a climbing wall and monkey bars (Hannah was too big for them but she tried it anyway LOL)

At the risk of sounding hohchmeedich (Pennsylvania Deitsh for proud) I have to say I loved the expression on the COSI volunteer’s face when my children were watching a traveling exhibit on air pressure.  The young girl asked if they knew what air pressure was and/or how it works.  My 5 year old proceeded to tell her “yes, it’s like when you put air in your tire on your car”.  She looked at me (I had a big smile as did Grandma) then back to him before saying “wow, I never thought of it like that!”  I have to say I couldn’t keep myself from thinking that if he were in school that this learning would have been stifled and even discouraged.

We had a fun day even though it was busy and of course the children are begging to go back.

Please don’t forget to go and vote for me over at the HSBA!  I’m listed in the Best Homeschool Variety Blog and Favorite Homeschool Mom Blog!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
