GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Oral Care (or lack thereof) and a Listerine challenge

on November 22, 2011

I’m joining in for the Mom Central Listerine Challenge so I’ll be posting once now, on my family’s oral care or lack of it and once again once we get our Listerine products and do the challenge.  The challenge is basically my family and I will begin a regimen of brushing, flossing and rinsing twice a day for three weeks.

I have a confession to make, I’m not a tooth brushing fanatic, now that isn’t to say that I’ll leave the house without brushing but there have been times where I forget to brush and remind my children to brush.  My parents dumped a lot of money into my teeth as a child, teen and young adult and even then I didn’t do everything the dentist and orthodontist recommended.  Yes I still chewed bubble gum and ate caramel pop corn with my braces.  I even managed to throw away a retainer at a Red’s baseball game, and which my loving dad got back for me out of the stadium’s trash can.  I hated to floss then and I still do.

Flash forwarding to now – my husband has bad teeth, he always has.  My children inherited his genes for this and no matter the amount of brushing cavities in at least one child is likely at 6 month appointments.  Me, I haven’t had a cavity in years.  So this will be something different for us and I’ll probably need to come up with a chart of some sort to remind myself and my children to commit  to the twice a day brushing, flossing, and rinsing routine.

I’ve been using a sensitivity tooth paste – my last dentist kept telling me the pain I’d get in my back jaw was related to my bite and he’d file down my teeth.  I started getting worried that eventually I’d have no more teeth to file down so I sought the opinion of another dentist who told me it’s not my bite but the fact that my gums in the back have begun to recede and she said that’s because I’ve been using a medium/hard toothbrush and I would brush to hard.  Since I’ve been using the sensitive toothpaste I haven’t had any more issues along with the change in toothbrush and brushing method.

I’m looking forward to this challenge and hoping that my children, husband (he’s much better about this than I am) and I can all get into a better tooth brushing routine and improve our dental hygiene and who knows maybe once my children have their next dental check up we’ll come out with zero, zip, nada cavities or caries!

“I wrote this review while participating in a blog tour by Mom Central Consulting on behalf of Listerine and received product samples to facilitate my review and a promotional item to thank me for taking the time to participate.”

