GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Litfuse Tour: “Mornings with Jesus 2012″ by Tricia Goyer, Camy Tang, Judy Baer and others (and giveaway CLOSED)

on January 24, 2012

About the Book:

“Be still and know that I am God.” is one of the most beautiful verses from the Bible, but it’s not easy to practice in this busy world. Mornings with Jesus will help you do just that—“be still” in Jesus’ beautiful and powerful presence. For those who are seeking a deeper experience in their relationship with Christ, Mornings with Jesus offers a fresh perspective of who Jesus is (the Healer, the Son of God, the Comforter, the Good Shepherd) and what that means for day-to-day life. With a warm and friendly voice, 365 short devotional writings on the character and teachings of Jesus encourage readers to greet each day by drawing near to Him and inviting His presence into their day. Spend time with Jesus at the beginning of each day and experience His nearness and peace in a new way throughout the year. Each day’s selection includes: • a Bible verse • an entry based on Jesus: His words, miracles, and parables; His wisdom, compassion, and comfort; His mystery, power, divinity, and humanity • a “faith step” that will inspire and challenge readers to apply the day’s message to their lives

My Opinion:

If you need something to jump start your day and if you’re like me, a busy mom who really doesn’t have free time, then let me introduce you to Mornings With Jesus 2012 written by some very talented women authors who speak God’s truth.  These devotionals are short, just right for the busy mom or woman, but filled with Truth, God’s love and poignancy.

I think the one thing that I’ve read so far that has inspired me from this devotional is the one I read on January 22, 2012 that spoke of children, family and it not being all about me.  It seems whatever I have read so far this year, the Lord is using it to direct my heart more towards my children and my husband.  I love how God works in our lives even we are not aware of it or even acknowledge it – He is working to draw us near and bring us into His flock.

So January 22′s devotional gives a Scripture verse, “Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and it truth.” I John 3:18 NIV and the author gives us a few words from her life that can also relate to ours, in this case it was about being a mom and the world no longer being all about her wants, her needs, etc.  After the short reading there are faith steps, these are a question that will make you think how the reading relates back to the Scripture at the beginning, or an action to take.  There are two for this date and one is “how did Jesus model selfless living?”, it doesn’t take a lot but the impact is big if you let God work through it and get into your daily life through these daily reading.

Normally I’m not big on dated devotionals as when I feel I’m bound by dates I feel like I can’t use it past that time, however even though this is dated I could see using this on a yearly cycle and just ignore the dates given.  If you’re looking for a great devotional for women written by women then look not further than Mornings With Jesus 2012.

**I was provided a copy of this devotional through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.  I was also provided an extra copy to give away in a contest on my blog.

Contest!!!

Congratulations to Kellyann!

You must be 18 year or older.  A resident of the U.S.  One entry per household only.  Void where prohibited.  You must leave an email in your entry – if I cannot contact you I will chose another winner.  Winner will be randomly selected by a random process decided upon by me on Monday February 6th, 2012 at noon EST   The first entry is mandatory.  If you already follow me please tell me.

  1. Do you need to get closer to the Lord?  Do you think this devotional will help?
  2. Follow my blog on Networked Blogs (see right sidebar)
  3. Like my blog’s Facebook page
  4. Follow on Google+
  5. Follow on Bloglovin (right sidebar)
  6. Share this giveaway on Twitter, Facebook or other social media – leave me a link to the post (click on the time stamp for the permalink of your post)

Leave a comment for each way you enter w/a way to contact you.  Please read all other rules above.

16 responses to “Litfuse Tour: “Mornings with Jesus 2012″ by Tricia Goyer, Camy Tang, Judy Baer and others (and giveaway CLOSED)

  1. Lisa says:

    Like a lot of women, I have a hard time working consistant Bible time into my morning. I find that little bite sized devotionals are manageable, even for me. I’d love to check this one out. Thanks for the chance to win.

  2. Laura Lane says:

    I do need to get closer to the Lord. I’m not sure yet if the book would help, but it’s worth a try. I’ve been reading reading reading my Bible and praying often. That’s helping me, too.
    lane.family@yahoo.com

    Laura Lane from the Crew

  3. Sandi Coughlin says:

    Anything to get closer to God is what I need. this book would be a big help
    slc925@yahoo.com

  4. Sandi Coughlin says:

    I tweeted about the contest but I’m not sure where the time stamp is. My name on twitter is sandicoughlin1 if that helps.

  5. Missy Rogers says:

    simplyraising8@gmail.com I would love to read this book. I have a men devotional giveaway going on right now on my blog that I Just read and reviewed and would like to have one that is geared for women.

  6. Missy Rogers says:

    following on Pinterest

  7. Missy Rogers says:

    following on bloglovin Simplyraising8

  8. I would LOVE to read this devotional. Looks like exactly what I’ve been looking for. scysgrl @ gmail dot com

  9. Went over and “liked” you on FB. scysgrl @ gmail dot com

  10. Vanessa says:

    Yes, I think I need to be more disciplined in my study of God’s Word and time spent with Him.
    This sounds like a good devotional.
    thank you!

  11. Linda says:

    I am interested, as I get different email devotionals occasionally from authors, and they are deep. This sounds like a great devotional to take to heart.

  12. Pat says:

    I think this book would help tremendously to get closer to God.

Comments are closed.
