GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

The Woodcarver DVD (review and giveaway CLOSED)

on March 16, 2012

About the Movie:

Matthew Stevenson is a troubled kid from a broken home. When he vandalizes the local church to get back at his parents, Matthew has to repair the damage to the church to avoid criminal charges. While working at the church, he meets Ernest (John Ratzenberger), an accomplished wood carver who created the intricate woodwork decoration that Matthew destroyed. Ernest has become something of a hermit, but reluctantly comes out of reclusion to help repair the church. Now Ernest and Matthew must work together to preserve the church’s beautiful antiquity, and along the way, they also manage to restore their faith in God and in life.
My Opinion:
I grew up watching Cheers, yes, not a children’s show but regardless I watched it and I fondly remember Cliff so when I saw that John Ratzenberger was in the new movie put out by Christian Cinema I jumped on it because I knew my husband and I would enjoy seeing him in something besides Cheers.  At first it was weird seeing him in such a serious roll, but he plays his roll so well that you eventually realize that he is one actor who can do many rolls.  When he talks about the Lord and faith and praying in the movie, it doesn’t feel forced and seems very genuine.

I liked the whole theme of restoration – families being restored, buildings being restored and ultimately Faith in the One True God being restored – after all He is the only way to achieve full restoration!  My husband and I both were a little deflated at the ending and thought something more could have been done to give a little more closure to the whole thing, but ultimately this is one movie that the whole family, even my 5 year old, would be able to watch as it’s VERY family friendly and has such a strong message of the Christian faith.

**Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Contest!!!

Congratulations to Mindi!!!!

You will win a physical copy of this DVD to enjoy!

You must be 18 year or older.  A resident of the U.S.  One entry per household only.  Void where prohibited.  You must leave an email in your entry – if I cannot contact you I will chose another winner. Winner must respond to my email within 48 hours – or a new winner will be chosen. Winner will be randomly selected by a random process decided upon by me on Friday, April 6th, 2012 at noon EST   The first entry is mandatory

  1. Visit Christian Cinema and tell me another movie you’d like to add to your collection.
  2. Follow Me using Linky Followers on my right side b
  3. Follow my blog on Facebook (right side bar)
  4. Follow my blog on Google+
  5. Follow my blog via BlogLovin’ (right side bar)
  6. Share this giveaway on Twitter, Facebook or other social media – leave me a link to the post or use the share buttons at the bottom of the post. (click on the time stamp for the permalink of your post)

Leave a comment for each way you enter w/a way to contact you.  Please read all other rules above.

Linked up at:

So

Giveaway Day

Also at The Adventures of J-Man and Millerbug

also at Guiding Light Homeschool

14 responses to “The Woodcarver DVD (review and giveaway CLOSED)

  1. Tina says:

    This movie looks good.Another one that I would like to add is Courageous.Thanks for the chance to win!

  2. Tina says:

    I am following your blog on FB.

  3. Linda's Lunacy says:

    I would love to add One Hit From Home to our movie collection.

  4. Linda's Lunacy says:

    I’m a new Linky Follower.

  5. Linda's Lunacy says:

    I’m a NB Follower.

  6. Rondah says:

    I’d like October Baby

  7. Rondah says:

    Follow on Google+

  8. Rondah says:

    Follow via BlogLovin’

  9. Rondah says:

  10. momto8blog says:

    I would love all Christian movies!!! i wold like October baby. i am your newest follower..pls follow back if you can.
    good luck with your give away!

  11. Mindi says:

    I would like to add Courageous to my collection!
    mae_01_sw@yahoo.com

  12. Christine Smith says:

    I would love to see “The Grace Card”! Thank you!

    Christine in OH

  13. Christine Smith says:

    I am following your blog on Facebook too!

    Christine in OH

Comments are closed.
