GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

FIRST Tour: Just Too Busy: Taking Your Family on a Radical Sabbatical by Joanne Kraft

on March 28, 2012

It is time for a FIRST Wild Card Tour book review! If you wish to join the FIRST blog alliance, just click the button. We are a group of reviewers who tour Christian books. A Wild Card post includes a brief bio of the author and a full chapter from each book toured. The reason it is called a FIRST Wild Card Tour is that you never know if the book will be fiction, non~fiction, for young, or for old…or for somewhere in between! Enjoy your free peek into the book!

You never know when I might play a wild card on you!

Today’s Wild Card author is:
Joanne Kraft
and the book:
Just Too Busy: Taking your Family on a Radical Sabbatical
Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City (June 1, 2011)

***Special thanks to
Susan Otis/Creative Resources for sending me a review copy.***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Joanne Kraft is a sought-after speaker who loves to encourage women. She has been published in Today’s Christian Woman, In Touch, ParentLife, Kyria and P31 Woman magazine. A leader of Inspire Christian Writers, she serves as a marriage study group leader, and works as a 911 dispatcher in Sacramento County, California. Kraft is married and has four children.

Visit the author’s website.


SHORT BOOK DESCRIPTION:


Just Too Busy is one mother’s story of getting off the merry-go-round of her family’s over-commitment. When everything their life seemed like a marathon race, Joanne Kraft and her husband decided to take a “radical sabbatical”—a year-long absence from any of their four children’s organized after-school activities. Memories made, new traditions started, lessons learned, and how their family’s legacy was enriched are shared, spiced with a liberal helping of light-hearted humor.

Product Details:

List Price: $14.99

Paperback: 192 pages

Publisher: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City (June 1, 2011)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 0834126095

ISBN-13: 978-0834126091

AND NOW…Click the LOOK INSIDE! Button to view the FIRST Chapter:

My Opinion:

This is a book that I read in one day, it had me laughing and even sometimes wanting to cry but I found it to be wonderfully enlightening on our culture today that says we must go, go, go and do,do, do.  That being said we are a busy family, thanks to my mom my son takes martial arts twice a week, my oldest is in dance once a week as is my other daughter and all go to Awana and they are all in 4H once a month as well.  Some would say, whew!  For us it doesn’t feel busy, I guess since we homeschool we don’t have to compete with school sports, homework, etc so we have more hours than a family who has to have a strict bed time and awake time.  My children do these activities because they want to, not because they are forced and they are early enough in the day that we are all home by 6:30 or 7 at the latest.  That said there are still things that rob our time – and that is what I thought was great about this book.

She has great ideas for family devotions (how many times have you thought I’m too busy to do devotions or I’m too busy to have a set prayer time?), and how to deal with other time thieves like Facebook, computers, game consoles, T.V., etc – it doesn’t have to be just about sports, dance, and other extra-curriculars anything that makes one “too busy” to attend to your family.  One thing I took issue with was when she was writing about the Enemy (AKA Satan) and how to have an abundant life and she mentions “Ask a person who is morbidly obese what he or she would pay for self control?” (page 89) – not everyone who is obese, morbidly or otherwise, lacks self control (my husband and I are both obese) even with portion control, carb counting, cutting out soda, etc we still can’t lose the weight.

Overall, this book was fantastic and it really has me motivated to cut back and start doing more – in fact just last night my oldest told me I spend too much time on the computer (she didn’t want to hear the fact that she spends way too much time on her iPod, but I digress) so it seems it’s a God thing that I had this book to read and review, as I’ve been convicted and we’ll see where life leads as far as the busyness that can often creep in when you least expect or think about it.

