GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

TOS Crew Review: Amazing Science! Volume I

on April 25, 2012

Photobucket

Vendor Name: Science and Math

Vendor ContactScience and Math contact page

Name of ProductAmazing Science Volume 1

Price:  $19.95 two DVD’s; $17.99 instant download

Age Range: multiple

My children enjoy doing science experiments but usually I don’t – I want to get our school time over with and move on to other things – however that has changed with the DVD from MathandScience.com.  On the two disc set there are 23 fun and exciting science experiments to complete demonstrating ideas such as electricity, magnetism, pressure, buoyancy, and more!  This DVD was not what I was expecting, dry, boring and monotonous – this kept my attention and pulled even my youngest child in with gasps of awe for the completed experiments.

My son, who is 5, really enjoyed the color changing milk (I must say I was pretty excited about it as well) and egg in a bottle whereas my 10 and 7 year old were fascinated by the simple lava lamp.  If you have multiple children, like I do there will more than likely be an experiment or two or three that will appeal to each of them – but they are all exciting and give some great hands-on science.  The best thing about this as well is the fact that almost all the items you’ll need are literally laying around your house – although we don’t have copper piping which was needed for the nonburnable money – pretty much everything else you’ll have!

Jason Gibson does a wonderful job in narrating the experiments taking the students step by step through each one and giving a detailed instructional on what happened and why.  Some of this was beyond my 5 year old – to him it’s just neat to do the experiments, understanding the why’s will come later – but they were just the right length and in depth enough for my 7 and 10 year old.  Also there are multiple filming views so you’re not just looking at it straight on but from the side or from the top, which adds a more ‘you are there’ feeling than just watching a DVD.  If science has become mundane or you want something fun to fill in summer or other breaks then this will be your ticket to some science fun – and they may not even realize they are learning!

To sum it up, this is an awesome DVD – and if you worry that you’ll only be using this once, think again.  These experiments are fun no matter how many time you do them.  Some supervision is needed, such as for those experiments that use matches, but some are easily done independently like reversing an image with water, which is great for families with older children and younger ones – or better yet do them all together and be ready to capture those faces on camera!  If you don’t want to take my word for it then head over to the TOS Homeschool Crew blog and find out what other homeschooling parents have to say.

**Disclaimer:  As a member of the TOS Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

