GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Home to Hickory Hollow series Book 1: The Fiddler by Beverly Lewis

on May 31, 2012

 

About the Book:

 

A wrong turn in a rainstorm leads Englisher Amelia Devries to Michael Hostetler–and the young Amishman’s charming Old Order community of Hickory Hollow. Despite their very different backgrounds, Amelia and Michael both feel hemmed in by the expectations of others and struggle with how to find room for their own hopes. And what first seems to be a chance encounter might just change their lives forever.

 

My Opinion:

 

I fell in love with Beverly Lewis’ writing years ago, before my first daughter came along, and her books were the impetus for my re-dedicating my life to Christ so whenever I have a chance to get one of her books for review I grab at it and pray I receive a blessing.  Receive a blessing I did – the new series Home to Hickory Hollow is going to be another cherished series just like her others have been, and I can’t wait to read more.

 

Beverly Lewis is one of the first Amish fiction writers and where some have jumped on the bandwagon, hers stay true to the Amish roots she writes about down to staying true to her Christian readers.  I don’t have to be afraid when I open one of Beverly’s books, because I know there isn’t going to be inappropriate boy/girl, woman/man, relationships.  Her characters have feelings but I haven’t read a Beverly Lewis book where the characters act on such feelings until after marriage and The Fiddler carries this tradition on.

 

I’ll admit I was worried – I was thinking maybe she’s lost her touch or that this book would be like others and have issues that I’m finding hard to stomach anymore – but I must admit to my failings as a fan because I was proven wrong.  I have no reservations recommending Beverly Lewis or The Fiddler to those who are wanting true Christian fiction set in Amish country.  The story line was fresh, of course there is the age old dilemma of do I stay Amish or leave, but it’s put into a fresh plot that it doesn’t seem old or stale.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book from Bethany House, in exchange for my honest review, no other compensation was given.

