GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Quilting

on July 23, 2007

For those who read my blog regularly, you know that I have come to enjoy quilting.  I am still very much a beginner and have only been quilting for maybe 2 1/2 years but it is so much fun to watch blocks become one huge quilt.  Wether it’s tied off or quilted it is so much fun.  So much love is wrapped around a person when they wrap a handmade quilt around them on a cold fall or winter night, a handmade quilted wall hanging adds so much to a home and makes even the smallest of homes seem bigger and warmer.  Quilts are amazing pieces of work and if cared for right over the years can become wonderful family heirlooms to be given to children, grandchildren, great grandchildren, great great grandchildren and so on.  I was given a great gift yesterday and I am copying and pasting what I wrote on a message board about what a great gift and find that was discovered yesterday, thanks to my in-laws.  I will try to post pictures when I get time between redding (this is an Amish term for getting a house cleaned up) up and our second VBS this summer.  Here is my post:

My MIL and FIL gave me some tubs to go through yesterday and said there was some quilting stuff, etc in them. So I went through them and imagine my surprise when I found two completed quilt tops!!! One is at least a twin sized quilt which my MIL said was made from looked like old kitchen curtains and shirts of my FIL and his brother’s shirts. I asked her about how old it would be and she said between 40 and 50 years old!!!!! The other is a smaller quilt which she took a fabric panel and then put strips of colored fabric around it. I need to buy some batting and backing fabric and either quilt or tie it. There were also several finished quilt blocks that she never got around to putting into a quilt so I will be doing something with those too. I also have a full bag of fabric squares to make I think it’s called Grandma’s garden pattern. She cut it all out and left the pattern with it so all I have to do is piece it and put it together! This would be Don’s (my DH’s) great Grandma. I am going to put a label on the back telling the children who made the quilt tops and then who finished the quilt. It will be a true ‘family’ quilt spanning the generations, even if I am only related by marriage. I am going to wash them up, my MIL says it should be okay to wash them on extra delicate, they have that musty stored smell. Once I get them washed up and dried I will try to post pictures.
God bless.

4 responses to “Quilting

  1. PumpkinsMomma says:

    I love quilting too; right now I have 4 unfinished projects i need to get working on! it's neat to get free fabric or partially done projects and finish them! have fun.
    marie

  2. stillearning says:

    in Keepers on quilting 🙂

    What a blessing to receive those things 🙂 I would like to see what you got. 🙂

    God Bless, Pam

  3. rvnurse2b says:

    WOW! What a great gift they gave you! ( doing the dance of joy in your honor!)

  4. OhioSarah says:

    I just wanted to say thank you to those friends who responded to my post. It truly is a gift. I will have something to pass on, which means a lot to me. Pam, I can't wait to show you and the young girls at Keepers. I think they will like to see such an old quilt.

    God bless.

Comments are closed.
