GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

First week of school

on August 27, 2010

I’ve decided to do a 4 day school week.  Why?  Well to be honest by Friday I want a break from teaching and just enjoy my children, it’s not that I don’t enjoy them while I’m teaching them but it’s nice to just enjoy each other without having to do math problems or science experiments.  We begin between 9 and 10 a.m and go until about 2 to 3 p.m. with a break for lunch so we do school for between 4 to 5 hours.  There will be times I’ll cram something in on Thursday that would be on Friday but that is okay.  This also leaves open Friday’s for our field trips, interest/co-op group or just family trips.

One activity Hannah and Bethanne had to do for Mystery of History Vol. 1 was to take playdough and create a person or an animal to see how hard it is, which also demonstrates how great God is since He was able to create everything with just the spoken word!  Even Christian joined but we didn’t get a picture of his.

Bethanne (‘created’ Eve):

Hannah (‘created’ snake and a person):

 

I’ll also be working on getting our timeline up so we can begin adding our figures to it.  I think the children will really enjoy that!  While at the Dollar Tree to pick up poster board for our time line and the lapbooking class Hannah will be doing at interest group I had an epiphany!  Since I’m needing something for Christian – I found a few educational ‘toys’ like stringing beads, a number foam puzzle with Disney’s Cars, a metal pan with some magnetic numbers to use with the magnetic letters I already have.  I added the stringing beads to a storage tub (plastic shoe box) and he had a ball and was so excited that it was all his!  He seems to understand it’s only to be out when his sisters are doing school.  I plan on adding one or two new things a week along with some coloring pages or worksheets that I print off.  Here he is with his tub: