GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Eyes of Justice by Lis Wiehl, April Henry

on March 21, 2012

About the book:

The Triple Threat Club has solved intense murder mysteries before…but this time it’s personal.

Cassidy, Allison, and Nicole fight for justice every day—Cassidy as a crime reporter, Nicole as an FBI agent, and Allison as a federal prosecutor. Together they’re a Triple Threat to be reckoned with.

But when a ruthless murderer kills one of their number—and the authorities seem intent on keeping them out of the investigation of the crime—their desire for justice goes into overdrive. They find an unexpected ally in a quirky private investigator named Ophelia whose methods confound the wise.

Yet just when it seems police have the killer in custody and justice is within sight, he somehow strikes again. Not knowing whom to trust, the team engage in a deadly game of cat-and-mouse with the killer. Nothing can be taken at face value…and nothing will ever be the same.

A riveting Triple Threat mystery that will leave readers shocked and satisfied.

My Opinion:

I’ve really, really enjoyed the other two books I read in this series, Triple Threat, and I was not let down with this one either, Eyes of Justice was an edge of your seat suspense that kept me flipping the virtual pages.  I read this book in one day – I couldn’t and didn’t want to put it down – it was engaging and kept me up reading way past my bedtime and I was not disappointed, except for the loss of a character.  In a way since I’ve read the other books, the characters have become like another family – through miscarriage, pregnancies, losses and crimes I felt like I have come to know the women in the novels as another set of friends (although not in the I can’t leave the fantasy behind way).

I did find this one to be a bit more graphic in the description of crime scenes and after a murder two of the characters get drunk to drown their sorrows – although one must not have been too bad as she was driving – regardless, this one did seem to be making things a bit more gruesome which didn’t appeal to me as much.  Yes, I enjoyed the story, but I didn’t need complete scene descriptions as they were discovered.  The other thing that kept creeping up was that the character who was murdered was depicted as going to Heaven and that the other character prayed for the Lord to take her soul.  While this is a nice thought it goes against what Scripture says – so that part was bothersome to me as well.

Even with the above issues the book for me was one that I did enjoy, I liked the suspense and several times when I thought I knew who the killer was I was shocked to find that I was wrong!  It was a twist turning plot line that will definitely appeal to those who want a ‘clean’ suspense, meaning no cussing and no intimate relationship stuff.  If you don’t mind a few crime scene descriptions and a few drinks then this book will give you a great read.

**I was provided a copy of this e-book from Booksneeze through Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

One response to “Eyes of Justice by Lis Wiehl, April Henry

  1. must add this to my “must read list”!

Comments are closed.
