GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Simon and the Easter Micracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter by Mary Joslin

on March 30, 2012

About the book from the cover:

Simon was just an ordinary countryman, coming to Jerusalem to sell his produce.  But on the same day a man was being led to his crucifixion, and Simon was swept into the commotion.

A traditional folk tale that goes to the very heart of the Easter story.

My Opinion:

I was very happy to get this book and read it to my children as the most important part of Easter isn’t the baby chicks and bunnies but about the real reason we celebrate this solemn time – it’s about Christ’s death upon the cross and His rising from the death to defeat it, not for Him but for us!  Too many books focus on the secular points of this Holy day so when I get a chance to add a solid, Biblical look at Eater in book form I long to add it to my collection.  All three of my children enjoyed the story and it opened up discussion with my 7 year old who, last year, accepted Christ as her Saviour and other ideas about Easter.  The beautiful illustrations done by Anna Luraschi give the book an old time feel and while giving a good picture of what is happening in the story, isn’t cluttered or overwhelming for the child who has a hard time focusing.

I will say that while it’s a great story to read about Easter, while we do know that a man name Simon from Cyrene was commanded to carry the cross when the Lord dropped it, the brief conversation never actually says why Christ was being crucified and never once does it mention Christ by name.  My oldest and I thought that maybe we skipped a page as something seemed to be missing from the end –  but my younger two were completely fine with the ending – maybe I was expecting a bit more of a finish with the story ending with Christ’s resurrection but it mentions only that Simon, the farmer knew that a miracle had happened.

I really did like this book, it is great for the younger set who maybe do not need a graphic detailing of Christ’s death and the parents can use the ending to discuss about Christ’s coming back to life.  It’s not so much for older children who are better able to grasp the graphic and gruesome nature of His death and resurrection, however I’m very happy to have this as part of our Easter readings and of course whenever we need a gentle reminder of what Christ did for us.

ETA:  As I go back and read what I’ve just written, I must say after thinking over it and the book, I am a bit more upset by the fact that Christ wasn’t mentioned by name and just about anyone, as I said above the miracle appears more to be about chicken eggs than about the real miracle.

**I was provided a copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

One response to “Simon and the Easter Micracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter by Mary Joslin

  1. Sarah- I reviewed the same book and did the exact same thing– thought I skipped a page or two at the end! It’s got kind of an unfinished feeling. I enjoyed the illustrations, though. I’ve saved my copy to give the kids at Easter.

Comments are closed.
