GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

F is for Freedom

on April 3, 2012

Photobucket

 

There are lots of great posts over at Ben and Me for Blogging Through the Alphabet things like family, friends and field trips!

 

I have to say that for me, F is for Freedom.

 

Usually when we think of freedom we think of the freedoms we have or don’t have as citizens of the United States.  We think of the veterans who gave their lives or who have served or are still serving their country.  But what if there were a bigger view of freedom?

 

A view of freedom of eternal consequence?

 

John 8:32 “And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. ”

John 8:36 “If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.”

Romans 6:20 “For when ye were the servants of sin, ye were free from righteousness. ”

 

There are more verses that speak of being free.  Lately, there seems to be a lot of spiritual warfare among Christians.  Both by Christian against Christian and the non-Believer against the Believer.

 

This saddens my heart when it comes to Christian against Christian.  I’m not saying that we are free to sin – what I’m saying is that we know that once we’ve accepted Christ – not just saying words and playing ‘Christian’ but fully accepted Christ as our Saviour – we are free in Him.

 

He has conquered sin and death.  Does that make us perfect?  No, but it does mean that we have a recourse for our sins – we can confess and repent from them.  We are going to struggle, but I no longer have to worry that my sins are going to send me to Hell – unless I fail to confess and repent – I have freedom in Christ.

 

This means that I can have my convictions, and you can have yours.  Some of mine are to cover, wear modest, feminine clothing, long hair.  This does not mean that I am a better Christian than the woman who is convicted it’s okay to wear pants, not to cover, or cuts her hair short.  There is freedom in Christ – we are not bound by the Law.

 

We can chose to worship Him on a Saturday or a Sunday or any day of the week!

 

We can chose to eat meat or not!

 

We can chose to eat potato chips or eat hummus!

 

We can chose to use traditional medication or use non traditional herbs!

 

We have the freedom to do and live our lives according to His Will – we can make the choice to follow Him or reject Him, knowing that the consequence of either will be life or death.

 

Personally, I prefer to have freedom that comes from a personal relationship with Jesus Christ – knowing that on my death bed I will be going home to my mansion.  It’s yours for the asking, if you want freedom, no matter where you live, no matter the restrictions placed on you by an earthly government, you can have the only freedom that matters!

 

Freedom in Jesus Christ!

2 responses to “F is for Freedom

  1. Debra says:

    Great post! And when I saw the title, I had a pretty good idea what the post would be about. 🙂

  2. ohiosarah says:

    Thank you Debra 😀

Comments are closed.
