GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

H is for Hope

on April 13, 2012

Photobucket

Hope.

That’s a biggie.  I know what it is like when you live life with no hope – it’s depressing – and with no hope you feel like there is no reason to go on.

I’ve been there and I’ve been rescued.

Psalm 146:5  “Happy is he that hath the God of Jacob for his help, whose hope is in the LORD his God: ”

I was baptized when when I was 10 – 1988 – and I made my decision knowing what it meant however as I grew up I decided to live my life on my way, on my terms – I didn’t need God or His rules.

I made a lot of bad choices, choices that hurt me, hurt my family, hurt others and hurt the Lord.  I had no hope – I let Satan take over – and that led me into the darkness  and depression that comes from not following the Lord.

The Bible is full of words on hope.  I wish I could list them all for you here, but if you were like me and living on your own, then there is a lot of hope to be found in God’s Word and in coming back to Him.

Hope is defined by Merriam Webster as “to cherish a desire with anticipation” or “to desire with expectation of obtainment” or “to expect with confidence”

So my hope is in the Lord – I can desire my place in Heaven with excitement and look forward to it with confidence.  No longer do I have to sink into depression because I can run into my Father’s embrace and know that my hope for my life, for my children, for my husband is in Him and Him alone.

When I put my hope in me – I was miserable and Satan took that to his good – but thankfully the Lord had His hand on me and rescued me and so I can now have a hope that brings peace, happiness, joy, and rest – that doesn’t mean that my life is all sunshine and roses, because being a Christian doesn’t guarantee that, but I have hope and that means that I can give all my cares, wrongs, worries to the Lord and He will take care of them for me.

I pray that you can find what I’ve found – Hope – if you haven’t and you’d like prayer I’d love to do that for you.  Just leave a message or comment (feel free to do so anonymously) and I will pray for you that the Lord will guide you and give you the Hope that can be yours.

3 responses to “H is for Hope

  1. Love the focus on hope!

    Psalm 130:7
    O Israel, hope in the LORD! For with the LORD there is steadfast love, and with him is plentiful redemption.

    Warmly,
    Kate

  2. Laraba says:

    Amen!!

  3. I blogged about Hope too. You post thoughful and well put.

Comments are closed.
