GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie (review and giveaway CLOSED!!)

on April 26, 2012

About the Book:

Tethered by her impulsive promise to marry Lord John Lemon – the path of least resistance – Alexandria Featherstone sets off toward Iceland in search of her parents with a leaden heart. A glimpse of her guardian, the Duke of St. Easton – the path less traveled by – on Dublin’s shore still haunts her.

Will he come after her? Will he drag her back to London, quelling her mission to rescue her treasure-seeking parents, or might he decide to throw caution to the wind and choose Foy Pour Devoir: “Faith for Duty,” the St. Easton motto. The Featherstone motto Valens et Volens: “Willing and Able,” beats in her heart and thrums through her veins. She will find her parents and find their love, no matter the cost.

The powerful yet wing-clipped Duke of St. Easton has never known the challenge that has become his life since hearing his ward’s name. Alexandria Featherstone will be the life or the death of him. Only time and God’s plan will reveal just how much this man can endure for the prize of love.

My Opinion:

I did enjoy this second book in the Forgotten Castles series, however, unlike the first one I would not let my unmarried daughter’s read this book.  I enjoyed all the plot twists but the violence, unmarried people lying and sleeping in the same bed, and lots of kissing and touching between unmarried people, is enough to send warning bells for young readers who may have read the first book.  While I say this as a caution, I must admit I did enjoy the book, even though I didn’t agree with the choices and actions made by the characters.  This was a definite page turner, and I’m looking forward to finishing the series when the next book comes out later this year.  So, if you’ve read the first and want to or need to know what happens with the Duke, Mr. Lemon and Alexandria then grab this one!

**Disclosure of Material Connection:  I receiving one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 244: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Giveaway!!!

Winner is The Happy Homeschool Mom!!!

You must be 18 year or older.  A resident of the U.S.  One entry per household only.  Void where prohibited.  You must leave an email in your entry – if I cannot contact you I will chose another winner.  Winner will be randomly selected by a random process decided upon by me on Monday, May 7th, 2012 at noon EST   The first entry is mandatory.

  1. Tell me one reason you’d like to win this book.  Do you like Regency?  Christian romance?  Did you read the first one and want to find out what happens?
  2. Follow via Linky Followers (under the facebook follow right side bar)
  3. Follow me on Facebook (right side bar)
  4. Follow on Blog Lovin’ (right side bar)
  5. Share this giveaway on Twitter, Facebook or other social media – leave me a link to the post or use the share buttons at the bottom of the post. (click on the time stamp for the permalink of your post)

Again, make sure to leave an email – if I can’t contact you – you can’t win!

6 responses to “The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie (review and giveaway CLOSED!!)

  1. Kym Thorpe says:

    I read the first one and can hardly wait for the second!

    kymtmd at gmail dot com

  2. I have the first one and would love to win the second!

    artandlisatrombleyatyahoodotcom

  3. I follow via Linky Followers

  4. I follow via Networked Blogs

  5. Jessica K says:

    I love the Regency era and Christian fiction. Thank you for this review.

  6. Kristi says:

    I have not read fiction in a very long time but have the first book. I’d love to keep reading the storyline! 🙂

Comments are closed.
