GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Tropical Traditions Virgin Coconut Oil

on April 27, 2012

I have been given the opportunity to use and review Tropical Traditions gold label virgin coconut oil and I must say that while I was hesitant at first because I really didn’t want my foods all tasting like coconut – the hesitancy was soon forgotten.  The health benefits of coconut oil, when made correctly and not heated at high heat like some store brands are, is immense.  While I am not a medical professional and do not jump on every new diet bandwagon – I cannot urge adding coconut oil to your diet.  I’m working my way up to trying to include more of this oil in my and my children’s diet.  As a type 2 diabetic who has also been told that I have high cholesterol and high BP – I am hoping that with this wonderful addition I can reverse these things so I can off and not be put on any new meds.

I’ve had some ask if there is a coconut taste to the foods I’ve used it in – so far I’ve only used it to replace oils in my cooking and baking.  Such as pancakes – I liquify the oil and add it to the batter instead of other unhealthy oils – there was no coconut taste!  I did add in a little vanilla as my children like the vanilla flavoring but you could not taste the coconut.  It also smells very good when slowly melted in a pan on the stove top – it lends a tropical smell to the kitchen which brought all the children to my side to find out what I was doing.   I haven’t had the chance to try the coconut cream mocha recipe but that is definitely on my need to try soon list.

I think what has me even more impressed with the Tropical Traditions brand is that they employ the Philippine people who harvest and then make the coconut oil without using high heat or chemicals – keeping it organic and made by hand.  You can read more about how their coconut oil is made by visiting the Tropical Traditions site.  Another thing I’ve been trying with my coconut oil is oil pulling – which may sound odd but I’ve noticed a difference already in my gum and tooth sensitivity.

I cannot say enough about this oil – from the internal health benefits to even using for dry skin and in your hair – it’s a natural miracle.  I once thought that all coconut oils were created the same, however, it’s not true.  If you think this as well then I urge you to buy your oil from Tropical Traditions and see and feel and taste the difference – I’ve even had some tell me that they and their children will eat a spoonful of this plain, like some eat peanut butter!  There are many different sizes to choose from (as well as other items and versions of the oil) such as the 16 ounce, the 32 ounce which is on sale now for $29.50, you can also buy one gallon and five gallon tubs.

**Disclaimer:  Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose.  Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

One response to “Tropical Traditions Virgin Coconut Oil

  1. What is oil pulling? I have never heard of that. I LOVE coconut oil. 😀

    Kate

Comments are closed.
