GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

on May 5, 2012

 

In My Life This Week:

 

I’ve been getting my children started in their first week of the 2012-2013 school year!  Also trying to get caught up on laundry and dishes.  My oldest finished her 2nd T&T book in Awana and my middle only has 1 section left in her last Sparks book!

 

In Our Homeschool This Week:

 

We finished our first week of school!  This is my first year in having to account for all three of my children.  I must say I was a little nervous at first, “how am I going to school all 3?”, but I must say it’s gone pretty smoothly.  With my oldest doing almost all her work independently and my middle daughter trying her best to be independent too it’s worked out well, so far.

 

Helpful Homeschooling Tips or Advice To Share:

 

Take it one day at a time.  That may sound redundant but it’s true – if I had looked at all the stuff to do this week besides just each day’s – the week probably wouldn’t have gone as smoothly as it did.  Focus on Monday on Monday, Tuesday on Tuesday, etc and if something doesn’t get done – let it go!

 

Places We’re Going and People We’re Seeing:

 

The usual, dance classes, martial arts and Awana.

 

Things I’m Working On:

 

Hannah was given some new skirts but I need to hem them before she can wear them, I can do the denim but I’m needing to find someone who can work with stretchy fabric for the other.  Also needing to find some prairie outfits for the girls as they are going to go to the local one room schoolhouse in a couple weeks.

 

I’m Reading:

 

A Walk Through the Mall by Wade J. Carey

 

Yeshua by G.P. Taylor

 

Beyond Hope’s Valley by Tricia Goyer

 

A Picture to Share:

 

After the heat we’ve been having – I’m looking forward to the beautiful colors and cooler temps of autumn again.

4 responses to “The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

  1. northlaurel says:

    1st week already?! We still have 2 weeks to go lol. Glad it is going well so far though. Here’s to many more great weeks!

    • ohiosarah says:

      Yes North – I wasn’t going to start until June but the children were fighting non stop because of being bored. Now my older two are a bit excited – my 10 year old finds it neat that when she is entering 6th grade next April her peers will still be in 5th LOL

  2. So impressed that you’re already starting your 2012-2013 school year! We still have about 3 weeks to go to finish our current year.
    It is so true that we need to just focus on one day at a time. I have a habit of looking too far ahead, and it causes additional (unnecessary) stress. I’m going to work on taking it one day at a time this week!

    • ohiosarah says:

      Judy, thank you for stopping by! I decided this year to do year round as my oldest two were losing too much when we took 1 to 2 months off plus they become bored and start fighting. Hopefully it’ll continue going so well.

Comments are closed.
