GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

TOS Crew Review: Judah Bible Curriculum

on May 16, 2012

 

Vendor Name:  Judah Bible Curriculum

Vendor ContactJBC contact page

Name of ProductJudah Bible Curriculum

Price:  $44.00 download or $69.00 hard copy

Age Range:  all ages

 

As parents, we long to instill a love of God, His Son, and His Word – sometimes it’s difficult to do this as we try to cover everything we need in a day: math, science, history, etc – but our children need to be able to know God’s Word and understand it.  Using the Principle Approach which the author of the Judah Bible Curriculum say is based on the approach used by the founding fathers of America.  I’ve never head of the Principle Approach before so this was quite a different way of learning for me, and it was even somewhat confusing.

The first part of the curriculum is the audio training files, which help you understand why children need to learn the Bible and how to teach using this approach.  There are 8 audio files – and they are all pleasing to listen to and there is a lot to learn from them, however for me, I was not able to listen to all at one time and that may have lessened my ability to fully comprehend everything that I needed to do – and while I could definitely hear the love of the Lord – I just wasn’t able to follow everything.

There is the JBC manual which helps if you are more of a visual person and also helps anything that may have been missed in the audio.  Even after reading through the manual I still had a hard time understanding how to implement this Bible curriculum.  There is a guide to themes for each week but I still felt somewhat lost in what I should do.  There is also an included notebook ideas – which help the children (and the parents too if they chose) take notes on what is being studied – the ideas e-book shows you what you can expect for different ages/grades depending on the size of your family.  If you’re child is a pre-writer they aren’t going to take notes like your middle school child – so this was nice as I didn’t feel pressure for my children to perform as it’s perfectly okay for my 5 year old to draw what he learned.

Overall, I wasn’t able to totally implement this, I like the premise of the curriculum and the fact that the author does really love the Lord and wants to help others learn about Him and His Word – but for my family it didn’t work well.  If a family is used to or knows more about the Principle Approach then this may be just what you are looking for.  If you want to see what other homeschooling parents thought of the Judah Bible Curriculum visit the TOS Homeschool Crew Blog.

****Disclaimer:  As a member of the TOS Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

