GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Launch Out Into the Deep by Acacia Slanton Beumer Poetry by Aaron L. Slanton

on May 24, 2012

I’m not sure where to begin as I review this book, Launch Out Into the Deep!, it’s not because it isn’t good, but because it is great – it’s more the style that throws me a bit, but that could also be because I’m reading it on my Kindle Fire instead of a printed book.  Launch has been given the Dove ‘family approved’ seal for ages 12 and up and is a Mom’s Choice Award Gold Recipient.  I don’t know if I would let every 12 year old read this book alone, as some of the subject matter is pretty intense, but I could see my very mature 10 year old reading this when she is older.

This book isn’t your typical novel, poetry or even devotional – it goes above and beyond that – I wouldn’t know how to classify it by genre.  I do believe this is a must read for every Christian or those who are struggling in their faith as Acacia speaks to the heart of the hurting and the healed through her very personal style of writing, through Scripture and her brother’s poetry.  I can’t tell you how many times as I was reading I was either inspired by her writing or a sin was brought to mind that I hadn’t confessed.  These aren’t your scratch the surface, fluff that is so common today, this is conviction, based on things that happened in her life or in others and is something we can glean from.

Launch Out Into the Deep is a refreshing look at the Christian faith through the eyes of someone, who like most of us, made a decision for Christ at a young age but later realized it was because our parents desired it more than really yearning for Christ’s gift of Salvation.  Our past is just that, our past and we can rise above it and when we find our freedom, our healing in Christ we can be whole whether our past is full of drug addiction,  giving away your purity before marriage – Christ can and will forgive you and make you whole again in spirit, if only you ask.  That is what is so powerful about this book, it really shows the reader the power of God’s love for each of us – it’s not the discussion questions or the writing itself, but it’s God’s love coming through the pages of the book.

I was also thankful in the reading that Acacia is very pro-abstinence, which even some Christians today don’t think is practical in light of today’s culture.  However she also acknowledges that some just aren’t going to be abstinent, from her time in working as an adolescent counselor and does say that those who can’t abstain should use a condom or using birth control.  While I know that it is the real world and some won’t abstain – using birth control is like giving permission and the health risks are dangerous as well as how it ‘performs’.  Even in light of this part of the book, it is a definite read and it could easily be used for groups with the included discussion questions, or a parent/child devotional for those who are entering the chaotic world of adolescence – however I would not turn my 12 year old out with it on her own but I would use it as a discussion on how we approach things in life as Christians.  Please visit the Launch website for more information, media links and much, much more.

**Disclaimer:  I was provided an e-copy of this book from the author, Acacia Slanton Beumer, in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

One response to “Launch Out Into the Deep by Acacia Slanton Beumer Poetry by Aaron L. Slanton

  1. Thanks so much Sarah for featuring me today! Your review captures the message I desire to relay to readers. Thanks for recognizing my book as a gem in this generation!

Comments are closed.
