GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Bringing Up Girls by Dr. James Dobson

on May 26, 2012

 

About the Book:

 

Peer pressure. Eating disorders. Decisions about love, romance, and sex. Academic demands. Life goals and how to achieve them. These are just some of the challenges that girls face today—and the age at which they encounter them is getting younger and younger. As a parent, how are you guiding your daughter on her journey to womanhood? Are you equipping her to make wise choices? Whether she’s still playing with dolls or in the midst of the often-turbulent teen years, is she truly secure in her identity as your valued and loved daughter? In the New York Times bestseller Bringing Up Girls, parenting authority and trusted family counselor Dr. James Dobson will help you face the challenges of raising your daughters to become strong, healthy, and confident women who excel in life.

 

My Opinion:

 

I’ve been wanting to read this book since it was released and now that I’ve read it I’m glad that I did.  I’m not going to say that I agree with everything in this book – Dr. Dobson seems to think dating is the only way a girl is going to meet her future husband, but this is only going to lead to heartache and having different pieces of her heart being given away before she truly marries.  There is a lot of good information in this book, and to me it doesn’t matter if Dr. Dobson quotes other sources or not, the information needs to be given out and I know I personally don’t have the time to read every, single book he mentions so having it condensed into one book is a huge and valuable time saver for me.

 

As a conservative Christian I do understand the importance of bringing up my girls to be pure, modest and chaste.  This may seem old fashioned to the world at large, but so many girls are falling into depression, self mutilation, as well as heartache by giving their hearts to one boy after another, giving their bodies to boy after boy and chasing them – girls have become the aggressors and Dr. Dobson points out exactly why this isn’t good for girls and for boys.  The importance of having a dad who is Christian and is there for them is stressed – dads shouldn’t back off when their daughters are turning into young ladies – because they need them all the more.  I appreciate the candidness of the answers Dr. Dobson gives to parents such as a sleep over with female friend when only the dad is home – he says of course that it’s a bad idea.  This is so true, my husband has seen first hand what a false accusation can do when a co-worker was accused by his step-daughter, one cannot take their reputation or their family’s safety for granted.

 

Some of the writing is common sense, such as the rise of pedophilia, but it isn’t done in a way that would scare the reader, in fact it just backed up everything I’ve already known, from studying social work, being involved in the mental health arena – most of what he said wasn’t new to me but was still an eye opener.  As a victim of bullying I know the damage that is done, both in private and public schools, there are some, like me, who overcame it and no longer let the victimization live on but there are others whose lives are ruined because of long term bullying that isn’t stopped.

 

Overall, I think this is a good book and a must read for every mom and dad who are trying to bring up girls in a “unisex”, “feministic”, and “anti-feminine” culture.  We have to know what we are up against so that our girls can grow into godly young ladies and eventually be women who go out to the serve the Lord but can do so with their confidence, hearts and purity intact.  This book also affirmed in me why we home educate our children – it’s not to hide them from the world but to make sure when they enter the world they do so with a firm foundation in the Lord.  Home education isn’t perfect and my oldest has already been exposed to girls who bully and intimidate, but thankfully she knows that we can talk and we can deal with it from a godly perspective.  Again, while I don’t agree with everything in this book, the majority of it was very worth the time it took to read it.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishing in exchange for posting my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

 

