GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

The Homeschool Mother’s Journal 5/26/12

on May 26, 2012

In Our Homeschool This Week:

The girls had their dance recital/concert this past Sunday, it was very hot, 91 degrees.  We all had to be there at 12:30 for dress rehearsal then the actual show was at 4:00p.m.  Thankfully I got to watch their rehearsal because once the show got started I ended up suffering from heat exhuastion, my pulse was racing at 120 and I felt so ill.

The girls also had their last dance classes of the year.  They are going to do a week long summer dance camp, but classes are done until September.  Christian only had 1 karate class this week, and we also had Awana awards.

We just finished our 2nd week of school!  All three children are really keeping the pace and doing well – I’m hoping to add in my 3rd grader’s reading, all 3 Spanish this coming week.

Places we’re Going and People we’re Seeing:

Well dance class, recital, karate and Awana.  We also saw the lady at OrPro and got Hannah’s new brace – she’s been out of it for almost two months – we see the dr in July for more x-rays.

My favorite thing this week was:

Seeing my 7 year old remember the first part of her Latin Prayer, The Sanctus.

Seeing my 5 year old enjoy and begging to do school.  I need to add in his phonics so we can work on reading.

Seeing my 10 year old help her siblings when needed with their school work.

Things I’m Working On:

Figuring in Spanish, reading and phonics into our lesson plans.

Reading and getting caught up on reviews.

Trying to stay cool in this summer like heat.

I’m reading:

Life of Andrew Jackson edited by John S. Jenkins, A.M.

Raising Your Kids to Love the Lord by Dave Stone

Why Church Matters by Joshua Harris

Great for God by David Shibley

A photo, video, link, or quote to share:

The children’s lincoln log creation – I think it was Hannah and Christian’s collaboration.

