GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Why Church Matters by Joshua Harris

on May 27, 2012

From Waterbrook-Multnomah website.

About the Book from Waterbrook-Multnomah:

We were never meant to live our faith in isolation. The church is the place God uses to grow us, encourage us, and use our gifts for His glory. In this honest, personal, and practical book, Joshua Harris shows you why it’s time to say yes to church and how to find the right one for you–the place where you can fall in love with the family of God.

Includes:
What you miss when you miss church
Ten questions to ask before you join
How to get more out of the best day of the week

My Opinion:

I picked this book because as some of my friends know, and now my readers, that I don’t believe that church membership is Biblical nor is it needed – this is because the times that I have given time, money and everything else to a church – it usually ends with me leaving – because of the pastor beginning to follow a teaching of a man than a Bible or because those who are heavily involved in the occult are allowed to continue worshiping with the body of Believers.  Enter Joshua Harris’ book, Why Church Matters, he makes the argument that all Believers should be in a church, not a home church, but a church and that we should be members of said church.  He claims this will make us better Christians and make the church stronger – some of his points I agreed with however some I do not.

One part of the book mentions him hearing a pastor say that if you’re not a member of a church you’re going to Hell.  What???  He doesn’t mean that membership is a requirement for Heaven, only Jesus is that, but he seems to agree that if you aren’t building the church and helping it by being a member is on the same grounding as other sins.  I love going to church and worshiping with fellow Believers, we tithe when the Lord has blessed us with extra, we give of our time, and yes we should still fall under church discipline should we fail to repent of sin that is corrupting the church.  Does this mean I need to be a member, his book fails to convince me that I can’t have a real Christian relationship with the church and those in it without being a member of a church.

I did enjoy reading this book but I know if my husband were to read it he wouldn’t care for it as much since it’s more of a look at the church and it’s members from the basis of a relationship.  He says that we are the brides of Christ but in my readings it is the church who is the Bride, not the individual members making up the church – but I don’t have a theology degree so I’m taking the verses at literal face value.  It is a thought provoking read and he does make some great points and I can see myself maybe revisiting this book as my husband and I are yet on the search again for a Bible preaching church that we can both go to and get something out of.

 

Please take a moment to rank my review at Blogging For Books.  Thank you.

**Disclaimer:  I received this e-book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

