GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

American History: Observations & Assessments from Early Settlement to Today (and teachers’ guide) by James P. Stobaugh

on May 29, 2012

 

I’m a history buff, I love reading and watching about history.  Give me a history book, whether it’s a book or textbook, and I’ll sit for hours (or as long as my children allow) and read.  I had the chance to review the American History text and teacher’s manual by James P. Stobaugh which is written for the 10th grade student and I must say I can’t wait until I have a 10th grader!  Not really, I’m not rushing my children to grow but this is such a wonderful history curriculum – I enjoyed just reading through it on my own and I learned stuff that I hadn’t been taught in public school – never ceases to amaze me how much revisionism I was exposed to.

 

This is divided into 34 chapters which amounts to 34 weeks of study for the student, within each each chapter are 5 lessons – I don’t know if highschoolers have to do school five days a week but if you only school for four I’m sure this can be altered to fit your family’s schedule.  Each lesson should take between 20 and 30 minutes to complete with the included reading and the critical thinking questions, some open ended, some not.  At the end of each week the student will take an exam over what was learned that week.  Even though I don’t have children in this grade, I appreciate that this course work is to be completed independently with the parent checking and grading the work turned in.  All responsibility falls on to the student to complete the work given in the time frame allowed.

 

You’ll find a lot of information in the text of the student book such as:

  • narrative background
  • critical thinking questions
  • concepts/generalizations
  • history maker
  • historiographies or historical debates
  • world view formation
  • history and world view overview

 

The only other items the student will need on a daily basis is a notepad for the writing assignments and a pencil or pen.  Your student (or yourself) will go through the “Natives of the New World” through the “Civil War” and the “War on Terrorism” – they will get an well rounded education of the history of the United States of America before she was the United States and beyond – based on a Biblical, non-revisionist text.  James P. Stobaugh and his wife have home educated their four children since 1985.

 

The teacher’s manual will making grading your student’s work much easier and faster with the choice to grade weekly or daily.  The student questions are wonderfully organized at the back for ease of use in testing as well as reviewing.  I really like the teacher’s manual gives a brief overview of the chapter in the first thoughts area and then an outline of the learning objectives complete with what questions/assignments go with each.  This makes it very teacher friendly and helps in the teaching if the teacher doesn’t have time to read through each lesson first.

 

I cannot say enough about this wonderful high school history curriculum for students who want a Biblically sound version without God removed from history.  I want to also say this text is not boring like some school texts, it’s very engaging and the illustrations are beautiful and sometimes strikingly painful, depending on the area of history being studied.  You can purchase the student and teachers books at Master Books.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this curricula from Master Books in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

 

3 responses to “American History: Observations & Assessments from Early Settlement to Today (and teachers’ guide) by James P. Stobaugh

  1. Laraba says:

    Oooh, looks awesome! I was thinking about American History. Question is, can I keep track of this text for the next 3 or 4 years ’til our eldest is old enough to do it? We’ll see :-).

  2. Sarah Bailey says:

    You could always get it for yourself first 😀

  3. Amy Schroeder says:

    Thank you for your review. I am jumping the gun and have started my shopping for the fall. I will have 10th and 11th graders. I stumbled upon this book and found it interesting. Not having seen it in person, I am anxious for reviews/opinions. Yours is like pretty much all the others… a glowing review (what I was hoping for). Thanks again!

Comments are closed.
