GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Growing up Ziglar by Julie Ziglar Norman

on June 4, 2012

 

About the Book:

 

Julie Ziglar Norman often says her dad is the king of ‘doing life right’ and she is the poster child for ‘doing life wrong.’

For over a quarter of a century she lived every day with regret, shame, guilt, and depression. But she was the daughter of the motivator’s motivator, Zig Ziglar, and knew that she needed to be positive. So she gathered up all her negative self-talk and squashed it deep down inside where it couldn’t ruin the bright and practiced smile she presented to the world.

‘People might assume Zig Ziglar’s daughter would automatically grow up to have a positive attitude,’ Julie says. ‘For a large portion of my life, I was just positive I was miserable!’

Her powerful and heartwarming story will move readers to laughter and tears. Mostly it will renew their faith in God’s power to redeem all the wrong choices and bring them full circle to hope and healing. Julie urges readers not to settle for okay when God has true joy waiting for them. She shares tools to equip them to make the changes needed to find true freedom in every area of life.

 

 

About Julie:

 

Julie Ziglar Norman is the daughter of Zig Ziglar and for 20 years has been his personal editor. With a background in sales and business management, Julie has become a dynamic international motivational speaker. She lives in Texas with her husband, Jim, and continues the Ziglar legacy of encouragement.

 

My Opinion:

 

When I requested this book I had absolutely no idea who Zig Ziglar was or anything – what grabbed me about this book is it is about a woman who was raised to always put on a smile and this led to self destructive behavior and ultimately a saving faith in the Lord Jesus Christ.  It spoke to me, it called to me and I knew I had to review this book because, except for having a high profile dad, I knew what it was like to cover up my real feelings, hide shame and guilt, become depressed and be pulled out of that pit by the Lord.

 

Julie Ziglar Norman is a woman, who like me, was saved only by the Grace of a loving Heavenly Father and her words spoke to me.  There are times I will read a book and think, ‘If only I had had this book back then’, but of course I wouldn’t have listened but I think what spoke to me was the fact that here is a woman who made a mess of her life, not her parents, not the Lord, but her – she made her choices and before she could receive healing she had to acknowledge that she made the mess, forgive herself and seek forgiveness from her Father.  So many times we just want to do things our way, and more often than not, and usually too late, we realize that that wasn’t the best thing to do.

 

With honesty and candidness Julie lets us see into her life, one that isn’t and won’t be perfect, but we get a glimpse of what life is like when you have the reigns versus when Lord has them.  An inspirational book that I couldn’t put down until I turned the last page (and I even read the notes and things at the end!) because I loved seeing how the Lord worked through Julie’s life, even before she became a Christian, the Lord always had her in His Hands.   Whether you know or don’t who Zig Ziglar is, whether or not you have always been or have not been a Christian, this book will spark something in you – a much needed change or maybe some sympathy for a person who is struggling.

 

You can purchase the book at Amazon.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

