GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Building Family Ties with Faith, Love, and Laughter By Dave Stone

on July 2, 2012

 

About the Book:

 

Creative ideas, real-life stories, and Scriptural guidance for being the family that loves being together.

Building Family Ties with Faith, Love, and Laughter is the second in the Faithful Family series where Dave applies his practical, conversational, and humorous approach to the challenge of building strong spiritual ties to each other as a family. Topics include: Contentment, Security, Loyalty, Gratitude, Spontaneity, Communication, and more.

Preaching is his gift, but Pastor Dave Stone’s family is his life’s blessing. And after raising three kids of his own, as well as shepherding the diverse families of his congregation, his heart and passion for building strong families rings louder than ever. He knows that raising faithful families is a key to the future of the church.

 

My Opinion:

 

There is always something we can do to make our families stronger and more bonded – and that is what Dave Stone has set out to do in his book, Building Family Ties with Faith, Love and Laughter.  In 10 chapters he lays out ways that are simple and inexpensive to make your family more full of joy – and that doesn’t include getting the new electric gadget.  Most Christians realize there is a break down of the family both in the church and in society – and some of that can be traced to the use of technology and Dave Stone addresses that in the first chapter, “Endangered Species”, and he doesn’t hold back.

 

As a Christian parent we are seeking to instill God’s Word in our child’s heart, not just so they can follow a set of rules but so that when they are confronted by Satan and his evil ways, they know how to respond.  I like in the part about parenting, we can start trusting our children but we still don’t want to put them into temptations way the goal is that we can trust our children without literally testing them.  As I’ve become a mom to an older child, I realize how carefully one must tread between being a hovering parent and one who gives their child responsibility.  I have began to let my oldest have more room to breathe away from me and she knows she must accept responsibility for her actions, whether good or bad and I like what Dave Stone has to say about that, “Quakes will rumble and buildings will sway, but if you’ve laid the right foundation, they need not fall.”  I’m not saying that I’m going to let my children hang out with people who do drugs or who are into witch craft – but I can rest assured that if I’ve built a good, strong foundation my child will continue to stand on.

 

My only thing about this book was in the chapter that dealt with word power, while a very powerful chapter, it’s assumed that you are a Believer married to a like-minded Believer.  That isn’t that simple for some of us – when clean words are discussed he points out that vulgarity is wrong and children need to be shielded from it – but he doesn’t realize that some parents, even those who are Believers may use this language.  Thankfully, I’ve been able to stem the tide and my children know acceptable language and find curse words tasteless.  Besides that, this is an excellent book to get some ideas on how to build the joy in your house and it’s generously sprinkled with Scripture to back up each idea and topic that he gives.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was provided an e-copy of this book from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

