GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: Apologia Who Is My Neighbor

on July 13, 2012

Vendor Name:  Apologia

Vendor Contact Apologia Contact Page

Name of Product Who Is My Neighbor

Price:  Text: $39.00  Notebooking Journal: $24.00  Coloring book: $8.00

Age/Grade Range:  ages 6 to 14 years

Are you wanting to teach your children a Biblical world view?  Then welcome to the the third in Apologia’s series, What We Believe titled Who Is My Neighbor?  this one picks up where volume two left off and I have been blessed to receive and review this volume as well.  This volumes deals with servanthood and how to be the light and the flavoring to the world.  Lessons will cover:

  1. Does anyone really need me?
  2. How can I make a difference?
  3. Who is my neighbor?
  4. Why did God make families?
  5. What can I do for my country?
  6. Why can’t we all just get along?
  7. Who is God’s family?
  8. Why does the church need me?

Following along the lines of the other books there are the big idea, short story, words that need to be remembered, memory verses and more but in this volume is something new and that’s the encounters with Jesus section.  I really liked this section as it tied up the whole lesson and related it directly back to Jesus by re-telling a story about a person who had first hand knowledge of Christ while He was on earth.  As is often the case in a re-telling some characters who aren’t named in the Bible are given names that correspond to that culture or there may be a character added to make the story flow more smoothly for the children – the authors neither take away or add to the story.

It is recommended that this book be covered twice a week with each lesson taking place over a period of three weeks.  This was actually quite doable for us as a family having a varying degree of ages and abilities.  I liked not having so much to do on each day and this schedule also allowed for make-up time if something had to be skipped or moved to another day.  Some of the readings are quite long so I recommend if you have a strong reader or two that they be allowed to help in reading aloud to those younger siblings – or you’ll likely to get very parched or have someone lose interest very fast.

The accompanying notebooking journal is full colored, beautiful and hopefully will be a keepsake of all that your child learned about servant hood and what they desire to do for the Lord.  There are a lot of spaces for note taking and the only thing that makes me not want to let my children use the note taking pages is that they are so pretty!  Scripture pages will allow the student to write down the memory verse in their chosen version of the Bible, facilitating their memory work.  Word searches, cross word puzzles and mini books all make for a fun learning experience while also providing a way to really ensure understanding and retention of the materials.

Do you have younger children?  Maybe ones who can’t write yet but still need to be included, well then the coloring book is what they’ll need.  Full pages with some text from the book will have the child engaged as you or their sibling do the reading for the day.  Of course these aren’t just for younger students, older students who enjoy coloring would also benefit from them and help to reiterate certain points.  My only idea that would make the coloring book even better would be to have somewhere, like the back cover, a list of what coloring pages go with which lesson and/or pages in the text.

If you are wanting a worldview curricula that suits the whole family then Apologia’s Who Is My Neighbor fits the bill.  As always it can be tweaked to fit your family’s ages and ability levels in regards to what needs read and according to your schedule.  If you’d like to see what others are saying about Who Is My Neighbor please visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.

**Disclaimer:  As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

 

Photobucket

