GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Tough Guys and Drama Queens: How Not to get Blindsided by Your Child’s Teen Years by Mark Gregston

on July 13, 2012

About the Book:

Parents of preteens and teens can move from scared to prepared with a new approach to parenting their adolescents.

Parents of preteens intuitively know that no matter how good their kids are, there is turbulence ahead. Many feel lost and unprepared as they watch the damaging effects of culture collide with their child’s growing pains and raging hormones.

For the past 35 years Mark Gregston has lived and worked with struggling teens and knows what it takes to reach them. He says, “A parent’s success has little to do with either the validity of their words or their intent as messengers, it’s more about how they approach their child and engage with them.”

The book is divided into three sections:

*What’s so different about today’s culture *Why traditional parenting no longer works *A new model for parenting teens

Foundational and practical, and written from the crucible of experience, Tough Guys and Drama Queens answers the questions that parents are asking, helping them become the parents their children need them to be.

My Opinion:

I wanted to like this book, really, I did but it seemed more written to the parents who have a child that is in a public or private school setting and isn’t taught not to follow the crowd.  Most people, including the author, I believe feel that all teenagers or those who aren’t teens in age but are in other ways are going to have rebellion and discord in their hearts and homes.  However, I don’t feel this way, if the parents are building a foundation with their child from birth.  This is what I’ve done and while not every day is perfect or stress free with my budding adolescent we do our best to work through the issues and I try to use the Bible as my guide, instead of using new parenting ideas that change from one generation to the next.

 

I’m not saying I don’t think the author doesn’t know what he speaks of in this book, he runs a center for youth to live in that need to be out of the house but I wonder how many of the children he sees have parents who are devoted to teaching their children Biblical truths for their life, teaching them at home instead of sending them to school and being truly and honestly involved?  I’m all for giving children responsibilities but I don’t think that should start at age 12 – it should start as soon as the child is able to walk, even a toddler can help empty trash cans or make their beds.  Yes, there comes a time when a child needs more control over their lives but certain issues are not up to them and while the child may resent it there are rules.

 

There were some things I could take away from this book, but I found it frustrating to read and even maddening at parts because it sounded to me, like a lot of what goes on today, that children need discipline but don’t be too hard on them because they have to learn to make mistakes at some point.  I think for a family whose child is following the crowd and has a peer group that is less than desirable and spends most of their waking time in a school building, this could be very helpful but for this homeschool mom, who desires to raise her children up to know and love the Lord it wasn’t much help.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was given an e-copy of this book from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

One response to “Tough Guys and Drama Queens: How Not to get Blindsided by Your Child’s Teen Years by Mark Gregston

  1. Diane says:

    Thanks for your honest review on this book. I had seen it and wondered how it was. Hope you have a great week! :O)

Comments are closed.
