GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Aging….some thoughts

on August 9, 2012

Yesterday I turned 34 – yes, 34 and it may not be lady like to admit it but I’m not ashamed of my age in fact I sort of look forward to getting older.  There was a time I couldn’t wait to turn 16, or 18 or 21 and not ‘get old’ but now I look forward to getting old.  I don’t like the idea of getting arthritis or other age related illnesses but I don’t look on getting old as something bad anymore either.

Pregnant with Christian.

I got married in 2001, lost our first baby shortly there after, then had our oldest when I was 24, then the next one came when I was 26 and the third when I was 28.  When I look back at my life as a young, single woman it was full of trials and tribulations and it took me almost a year after the birth of my first daughter to see the need for the Lord in my life (I was baptized when I was 12 but became backslidden later).

Bethanne and I together.

As most things happen to do, things changed – a lot.  I went from a career minded women who may get married, to a married working woman, then husband and I decided we’d have one child then we lost that child – so we got pregnant again.  I went on birth control (I was also now converted from a pro-abortion supporter to a staunchly pro-life supporter) then off again once hubby and I decided to have another.  After our second I was once again persuaded the safest and best thing would be to be on birth control again.  Stopped it and got pregnant, I told hubby that after he came there would be no more birth control.  The Lord convicted me on the use of this abortion causing medication.

Me, as a baby/toddler with my dad.

Now, lest, you think this is just me lamenting over children it’s not that was merely an example of how people change as we age.  My change was for the better though and I see that now as I enter my 34th year and see my children getting older.

My mom, Hannah and I after Hannah’s baptism.

I think of this verse in the Bible:

II Timothy 2:22  (ESV) So flee youthful passions and pursue righteousness, faith, love, and peace, along with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart.

I can take faith in Psalm 25:7 (ESV) in which it reads “Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions; according to your steadfast love remember me, for the sake of your goodness, O Lord!”

I used to aspire to be the woman in Proverbs 31 but I realize that no matter how much I do I will never sew all of my family’s clothing (my SIL is still waiting on me to fix her Nook cover from Christmas!), or get up early to fix their breakfast so instead I aspire to be more like the women in Titus 2.  If you don’t know Titus 2 it’s a wonderful chapter that both Christian men and women should read and listen to.

Or to be like the prophetess, Anna, who as a widow and of advanced age never left the Temple, instead she chose to worship day and night with fasting and prayer. (Luke 2:36-38)

And what about gray hair?  Well I’ve got a few strands and I think it’s great and when I search the Bible about gray hair here is what Scripture says:

“Gray hair is a crown of glory; it is gained in a righteous life.”  Proverbs 16:31 (ESV)

“The hoary head is a crown of glory,  if it be found in the way of righteousness.” KJV

My long hair.

So, for me getting old is a time of refinement and trying to live a righteous life before my Father, the King of kings!

One response to “Aging….some thoughts

  1. […] thing worse than age for some of us ladies (read my thoughts on aging) is our weight.  We do what we can to hide it, stuff rolls into curve creating garments, wear […]

Comments are closed.
