GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: V, W, X and Y….

on August 12, 2012

Blogging Through the Alphabet

Well late again – it’s becoming somewhat fashionable for me LOL

V is for Virtuous

Virtuous is defined as:  having or exhibiting virtue;  morally excellent; chaste.

In Ruth 3:11 we read:  “And now, my daughter, fear not;  I will do to thee all that thou requirest : for all the city of my people doth know that thou art a virtuous woman.”

Proverbs 12:4 tells us that “A virtuous woman is a crown to her husband but she that maketh ashamed is as rottenness in his bones.”

and the third reference in the KJV of virtuous is the infamous Proverbs 31 lady in verse 1o “For who can find a virtuous woman? for her price is far above rubies.”

When I think of virtuous I don’t think of someone who is perfect – we all know that we cannot be perfect this side of Heaven but I think more of chaste and exhibiting virtue.  A woman who is virtuous will be one who is quiet and does not draw attention to herself by crude talk, obscene language or lewdness in her body language and dress.  She will provide for her family within the home and if she has to gain employ outside her house she will do so on the minimum level so as not to upset the family dynamics trying to work when her husband can be home with the children.

A virtuous woman will exude peace and calm – even when the storms of life are causing strife.  She will serve the Lord by serving others even if it’s not something she wants to do – and she will do it all without complaining or whining or moping.  I know ladies like this and that is why they deserve the term lady – I often fail, as we all do, sometimes that facade cracks and we give into our flesh but that is why we are under Grace and we can go to our Father cry out to Him in forgiveness and know that one day we’ll be in Heaven and our virtue will be rewarded.

W is for weight

One thing worse than age for some of us ladies (read my thoughts on aging) is our weight.  We do what we can to hide it, stuff rolls into curve creating garments, wear baggier clothing and then there are those who feel that they have a great body and must therefor show it off.

I’m not going to discuss the merits of showing off your body, I think for the most part my readers know where I stand on modesty, but we must be careful to take care of our bodies:

1 Corinthians 6:19 and 20 tells us that we must take care of our bodies since they are the temple of the Holy Spirit and since we are bought with a price we must use our bodies to glorify Him.  If we look slovenly then those who we might be able to minister to may not want our help.

I’m not saying this to make you feel bad – I too am overweight, classified as obese in medical terms meaning I weigh 100+ pounds than I am supposed to.  I’m working on it and I realize that I’m not going to be some skinny Minnie – I’ve battled my weight for years in fact I had to switch from the Air Force to the Navy because I couldn’t lose 10 pounds for the A.F. to take me but the Navy would (I guess I could float better!! LOL)

In my body I have now, I have overfed it with sweets, sugars, breads, pasta and other things that my body cannot handle – it’s my fault.  Unfortunately, this has an eternal value as well – I’m tired most of the time which makes getting out and doing things harder, climbing stairs or going long distances shorten my breath which then result in a migraine – so me being overweight could have a direct bearing on whether or not someone gains salvation by my ministering or not, a sober thought, don’t you think?

X is for XXX

Yep – we have an adult store not far from us, at one time it even had a beautiful name – Orchids – now it’s just The Adult Store.  A few years ago, many, many years ago – some churches got together to boycott and protest this store – they are still there, unfortunately.  What’s even worse is the amount of traffic they get and they are located at the edge of a residential neighborhood.

I’ve seen men and women who leave children in their cars while they run in to purchase something so not only are they perverting their minds they are running the risk of bringing this evil filth into their children’s life.

1 Corinthians 6:18 tells us: “Flee fornication.  Every sin that a man doeth is without the body; but he that committeth fornication sinneth against his own body.”

and

also read Philippians 4:8 for some more on what we should be thinking on.

and finally; Y is for Youth

If you read my post on aging you’ll know that I now enjoy the thought of getting older.

Youth isn’t all it’s cracked up to be – it is hard and if youth aren’t careful they can make some really, really bad choices.  We all have to start as babies, then grow up and go through certain stages and that is why youth need their parents.

Some, even popular Christians, try to excuse the acts of stupidity (not saying the child is stupid but their actions are) by blaming it on hormones or friends or even T.V.  While these things do play a part – they shouldn’t excuse behaviors that go against the morals, laws or those that are harmful.  If the child isn’t trained and does not have a solid foundation built on the Lord and His Word the child can act and do stupid things thinking their parents will buy into psycho-babble that’s it’s not their faults.

Yes our children should be allowed to make choices, we can guide them, but letting them make the choice and if they fail they need to know they will have to pick up the pieces.  A girl who finds herself pregnant and unwed should know that while her parents will be there, she is going to have to make the choice to either have the baby and keep it or to have it and give the baby a life with another family.  A boy who decides to lie to go to a party and finds himself drunk should know that he can call on his parents to pick him up and get him safely home but he will have to take the responsibility of dealing with a hangover and any other repercussions.

These are only two and somewhat large scale mistakes that teens are making – some are going to make the wrong choice, the girl may murder her pre-born baby; the boy may drive drunk and exacerbate the problem or try to avoid going home.  Regardless, teens are going to make mistakes, some are going to be less complicated but they need to understand that their parents love them, will be by their sides as they learn to deal with the repercussions of their actions without blaming someone else.  We have become a society where instead of taking responsibility for our actions we try to come up with excuses, oh I didn’t know the speed limit was 25, he made me drink that beer, I can’t be a mom at 15, and on and on it goes until they reach adult hood and are lost in a sea where they can’t function because they haven’t learned responsibility.

Even as an adult I too make mistakes but I was taught to take responsibility for them – but I would never go back and want to relive my youth days again – and that’s one thing our children should learn as we guide them in their choices (not making them all for them) – they will live, they will move on and they will learn from their mistakes.

