GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

What’s in the Bible? Volume 1: In the Beginning

on August 13, 2012

WITB

What’s in the Bible is the newest idea from Phil Vischer, the creator of VeggieTales which aims to take children through the entire Bible with currently Volumes 1 – 9 starting at Genesis through Malachi and more coming soon.  With characters like Clive and Ian and the Sunday School Lady and others who interact with Phil Vischer it seems promising but for us it didn’t continue that way.  Each DVD is $14.99 or you can purchase the whole 9 DVD set for $109.99.

Volume I has two 25 minute episodes that are titled “What is the Bible?” and “Who Wrote the Bible?”  As I said this DVD started out as promising but as my children and I continued to watch we were just sort of lost as there was so much going on and the back and forth between Phil in real life and the puppets was somewhat over-stimulating.  My children are ages 10 1/2, 6 and almost 8 and all three were asking me to turn it off after the first episode, even I felt overwhelmed and a bit confused at all the activity going on and sadly, was glad to acquiesce to my children’s requests to stop the DVD.

WITB

I will say I could see that children who are new to church or are unchurched or even those who are in school and used to this type of learning would enjoy it and get a lot out of it, however for my children who don’t need a lot of hype and already know most of what was covered in the episode we watched, it became boring despite all the glam and music.  There is something to be said for it being used within a church setting, but even then I’m leery of having to use ‘fun’ and ‘contemporary’ ideas to keep children’s attention especially when it comes to God’s Word.  Overall, I think the idea is good but if it was less busy my family would definitely have enjoyed it more.  There are available study guides, coloring sheets, and other aides for free by going to the site.

WhatsintheBible

**Disclaimer:  I was selected for participation in this review and given the What’s in the bible DVD as a member of The Homeschool Lounge Review Team. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

