GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: Christian Liberty Press: Mr. Pipes and the British Hymn Makers

on August 24, 2012

Vendor Name:  Christian Liberty Press

Vendor Contact:   Contact Information

Name of Product:   Mr. Pipes and the British Hymn Makers by Douglas Bond

Pricee-book $8.79; print $9.89

Age/Grade Range:  recommended for grades 7-10th

I couldn’t wait to begin reading this book with my children, as I love the old hymns and prefer them to the contemporary style that seems to permeate most churches today when it comes to praising and worshiping the Lord.  I feel that when we are worshiping that we need to do so in a respectable and honorable manner, especially in a group – however most young people today prefer the more contemporary and fast moving music over the historical and deep theological hymns.  So I appreciate the effort of the author, Douglas Bond as well as Christian Liberty Press to get a book, this is the first in the series of four, that helps to instill a sense of pride in the Christian hymn writers of old.

I used the book as a read aloud with my three children, while the recommended grade is 7th through 10th I definitely see it as more geared to 1st through 4th or 5th grade.  The writing was not what I personally would want my middle/high school student reading, as it’s more simplistic and I’d want them reading something with a little more substance.  It was engaging though for my three children and the reading went smoothly, although some things were a bit dated – such as the use of a personal compact disc player (I got one of these when I graduated high school in 1997).  I and my children enjoyed the pictures which showed the ladies and girls and the men and boys dressed modestly even if it might be seen as unfashionable – I appreciated this.

Annie and Drew, brother and sister, are on a vacation and their mom is briefly mentioned as being too busy to be around too much (if I remember correctly she was doing research?).  The children wander the streets of Olney, England and meet up with Mr. Pipes who watches over the children, even though they just met him there is no qualms about the children being with him, and he teaches them about some of the great hymn writers.  Charles Wesley, Thomas Ken, John Newton, women hymn writers and more – at the conclusion of most of the chapters there is some music with words so that they can both be played and sung.

Like most books, there are some things I don’t completely agree with but overall, this is an excellent way to introduce children to the world of the wonderful hymns that are available to the church.  As they read they won’t see the hymns as some old and staid song, but something that relates the Gospel to us in a form that we can all relate to, song and word.  Hymns carry the Word of God to the masses and weave the Gospel and history of Christianity in a way that modern music cannot do today, and thankfully we have books like Mr. Pipes and the British Hymn Makers to get our children interested in these great songs.   There is a section of listed books if you or your children wish to further their study on hymns or those who wrote them – which would be good for the older student who needs more meat after reading this book.

Visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog to see what other homeschooling parents though about this book.

**Disclaimer:  As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

 

Photobucket

