GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Kregel Tour: Should Christians be Environmentalists? by Dan Story

on August 24, 2012

 

About the Book:

 

Did God instruct the human race to be His caretakers over nature? If so, is environmental exploitation disobedience to God? Is it true, as many critics claim, that Christianity is the root cause of today’s environmental problems–or are all religions and cultures responsible? How should the church respond?

Should Christians Be Environmentalists? systematically tackles these tough questions and more by exploring what the Bible says about the environment and our stewardship of creation. Looking at three dimensions of environmentalism as a movement, a Bible-based theology of nature, and the role the church has in environmental ethics, Dan Story examines each through a theological, apologetic, and practical lens.

Writing with easy-to-understand, nontechnical language, the author provides a powerful rebuttal to critics who claim Christianity is anti-environmental. He urges Christians–especially high school and college students–to embrace the tremendous evangelistic opportunities that exist in the environment debate.

In a time when Christians are becoming increasingly aware of the seriousness of today’s environmental and ecological problems and want the church to become more informed and engaged in confronting these issues, this book is the perfect introduction to this timely topic.

 

My Opinion:

 

I’m very much in agreement with the author that as Christians, we do need to take care of God’s creation as He did put us in charge – but I too see how the ‘left’ has turned environmentalism as a cross to die on, figuratively speaking.  I don’t like being told by those that I should only use one square of toilet paper or that by having more than 1.2 children I’m somehow polluting and killing our world.  The author states that with technology most people today, especially children, don’t get into nature enough or learn to appreciate it.  I don’t see technology as being the ‘bad guy’ but it’s ultimately the person’s fault to not want to be involved in anything past their gadget or game.

 

Should Christians care for the earth?  Yes.  Do we have to label ourselves as environmentalists?  No.  I love to take hikes and get my children out with me, especially in the fall which is my favorite season, and we leave our Kindles and iPods (except for when I need pictures for our portfolios) at home.  I do little things such as composting food scraps, hanging laundry out, and other small things but I don’t see myself as an environmentalist – to me it’s about saving money cutting back on our use of electricity so that our bill isn’t so high, but some I guess could see it as an environmental thing too.

 

I was really hoping for some new revelation in reading this book but it just didn’t come to me.  At some points I saw what seemed like anger in some of the commentary about how the church isn’t doing enough and while I don’t think that was the author’s intent, that was how I perceived it.  There was also some rather dry points that I found it hard to get through – tell me why I should be an environmentalist, I don’t need to know the liberal side as I hear it every time I turn on the T.V.  For me it was a lot of back and forth as to why Christians should be environmentalists even though most of the groups that support these endeavors go against everything a Christian should stand for.  Parts of the book were really interesting and held my attention but others I could have just skipped over.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was given a copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

