GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Body Broken: Can Republicans and Democrats Sit in the Same Pew by Charles D. Drew

on August 29, 2012

 

About the Book:

 

Can Christians Be Political Activists without Hating Each Other?

As the next presidential election comes into view, Americans are deciding where to stand on key issues. The church has often been as politically divided as the culture, but Charles Drew offers an alternative for people who care deeply about their faith, about Christian harmony, and about the church’s calling in the world. In this updated and revised version of A Public Faith (NavPress 2000), Drew helps Christians develop practical biblical convictions about critical social and political issues. Distinguishing between moral principle and political strategy, Body Broken equips believers to maintain the unity of the church while building their political activism upon a thoughtful and biblical foundation. Drew helps Christians of all political persuasions understand how to practice servanthood, cooperation, and integrity in today’s public square.

 

The book can be purchased at New Growth Press.

 

My Opinion:

 

I must say when I began reading this book that I was thinking the author would  be telling me that I had to vote, or had to be politically active – but that wasn’t the case at all.  I liked that the author let the reader make up their mind based on conviction from the Lord – how we approach our political bend – without making either side, political or not, feel belittled or elevated.  I’ve seen how political divides churches, friends and families – and when it happens within the church it not only hurts us but it’s a grave sin against the Lord.  Can I disagree with a fellow Christian who doesn’t believe abortion is murder?  Yes.  Oftentimes though our words turn to swords and they hurt and maim and, for or against, the words we issue forth can rip a person’s faith.

 

Using Scripture and historical analysis for his book gives him some solid ground to stand on.  With not getting to personal – I don’t feel led, as a Christian, to enter into the political world and I don’t agree with the statement “to not vote is to vote” (research our voting process) and while we still have to help promote a Christian world view it doesn’t always have to be through political means.  If you’re a die hard politico or if you’re a Christian who prefers to do things through other avenues, this book will have you evaluating your beliefs and either become stronger in them or having you rethink them in context of Scripture.

 

Sometimes it was a bit heavy and it took me awhile to get through some chapters, and I made the mistake of reading some before bed – do not do this – some things will get lost between sleep and waking.  I liked the conversational tone and his personal experiences especially the one where he decided after much thought and prayer, that the flag does not belong on or near the pulpit and it was moved to the back of the church.  This met with resistance – but I’m glad he took this stance, as a Navy Vet, it’s hard to come to my convictions as everyone expects you to be pro-America, pro-flag, pro-voting and pro-politics but that isn’t where my allegiance lies, it lies with Christ and His Kingdom then I am American second.  Do I agree with everything in this book?  No.  However, the things I disagreed with were minor compared to what I do agree with.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book through B&B Media in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

 

 

