GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

In Pursuit of Proverbs 31 by Amy Bayliss

on August 30, 2012

About the Book:

Pursuit of Proverbs 31 is a book that dispels the myths surrounding the P31 woman and gives a glimpse into the truth behind these verses of scripture.

It takes us from a works based mentality to one that frees us to accept that Christ is the only one who could ever fulfill scripture. Yet, there is practical wisdom and knowledge to be gained from those verses.

The book dives deep into the character traits represented and how we can accomplish them while keeping Christ as the focus. It is a short read but it is packed full of wisdom and practical application.

About Amy Bayliss:

I’m an indie author, web publisher, blogging, digital publishing, and social media consultant, and I am a small business owner but my favorite job is being a wife to Ryan and mama to my four, rowdy boys!

Most of all, I’m just me. I make mistakes (quite often). I don’t always get it right. Hopefully I learn my lesson the first time. If not, I have an awesome savior who doesn’t give up on me.

Oh you want the official bio? Here goes…

Amy Bayliss, then Amy Grant, began blogging in 2005. Since that time she has trail blazed through the blog scene co-founding and propelling online retreats like Homemaker’s Challenge, and her personal website:Cajun Joie de Vivre. She also brought to the table an innovative way for bloggers and their readers to connect by establishing online conferences and workshops through A Woman InspiredHOTM Conferences, and DIY Ministry. She has been featured Woman’s Day Magazine, Inside Out Programming, and was the feature story and cover girl for CWO Magazine in August of 2008.

Currently, she is a regular columnist or contributing writer to the following publications: Sisters in BloomRooMag by Candace Cameron Bure,The Better Mom, and A Martha Heart.

Amy is the author of Pursuit of Proverbs 31 and Do It Yourself Online Ministry. She is now wife to Ryan and mom to four rambunctious boys that range in age from 18 months to 15 years. They reside in Cajun Country where they worship and serve under Healing Place Church.

My Opinion:

 

You know the woman – all Christian women want to be like her but yet can’t achieve it?   The Proverbs 31 woman.  Her.  Many books have been written on her, sermons have expounded and extolled her virtues – making many of us ladies who just don’t measure up to her feel guilty and less than.  When I rededicated my life to Christ, I fell in love with the idea of being the Proverbs 31 woman – the idea of waking every morning before my family making a hearty and healthy breakfast, making all our clothing, well I failed, miserably.

 

In Amy’s book she helps us ladies see that God didn’t put the Proverbs 31 lady in the Bible to make us feel bad or unworthy – she is what we can aspire to but He knows that none of us will measure up.  Some say this was a poem written by Solomon’s mom in what she wanted him to have in a wife, there are speculations this woman didn’t even exist – and here we are trying to emulate her?  I still sleep in, sometimes even my husband is gone before I rise, I’m a full time mom, homemaker, wife and homeschooler – I’m tired.

 

Amy has several ways she recommends we use this book – just read it all the way through then pray over what sections you need to focus on, go in order forming a small group to study with and be held accountable – or how you see fit.  As you read each chapter it’s assignments are divided into essential, useful and bonus which will help you in tailoring what you are able to do, and this may vary from week to week or even day to day.  First and foremost begin the study with prayer – the chapters end with focused thoughts about what was just read, memory Scripture, then the assignments of which you decide based on the Spirit’s leading to complete.

 

If you’re a woman who struggles with what the world wants versus what you know what the Lord wants from you, this is a great way to begin delving into that search and gaining from Scripture what the Lord wants from you as His daughter, His princess.  Regardless, if you can’t sew at all, if you like to sleep in, and you can’t go out a buy a field, the Lord still loves you, your husband can still call you blessed.    This study will make you feel good about where the Lord has put you and with the gifts He’s bestowed upon you, whatever they may be.

 

**Disclaimer:  As a member of the CWA Review Crew, I received this e-product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

