GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

TOS Crew: Reading Kingdom

on September 7, 2012

Vendor Name:   Reading Kingdom

Vendor Contact:  Contact Us page

Name of Product:   Reading Kingdom

Price:  30 day free trial; $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year – each additional child is $9.99 a month or $99.99

Age/Grade Range:  ages 4 to 10

Reading Kingdom is an online, subscription reading program for children who are learning to read or who need remedial help in their reading skills.  Created by Dr. Marion Blank,  it’s designed to be fully customizable to your child, based on ability and pacing.  I am currently using this with my 6 year old son, who will work on it only when I’m working on it with him – he becomes frustrated with it – and I’m not sure why as the last time we used Reading Kingdom he enjoyed it a lot.

My son started off where we left off previously so he didn’t have to retake the assessment which was a huge time saver, but that may have also added to the frustration that he felt as it was like diving in after a very long break from using it before.  He liked it and the graphics were colorful so once he got going and got lots of positive feedback from me he wanted to keep going, but once he knew it was time to stop for the day he didn’t want to go further.  Each lesson is about 15 to 20 minutes and it’s supposed to allow for one lesson a day but if a child wants to continue they can do that as well.

I like that I can log on and see where he is at regarding progress and skill level so for him right now, he’s 42% complete in seeing sequences and 39% complete in letter land.  I can also see what he’s started, what he’s earned excellence, what he doesn’t need to do and what he has yet to do.  I’d use it as an incentive to get him to do school and if he wanted some ‘free’ computer time, he’d have to do a lesson on Reading Kingdom, that usually worked.  I didn’t add this in to our school day but simply used it as a supplement to what we’re currently doing in our home.

Reading Kingdom uses a mix of phonics and whole language learning – which may be good for some but I prefer to use the phonics method and once that is mastered move into the other area.  Honestly, while I still like Reading Kingdom, I think it would have better suited my soon to be 8 year old who is reading but sometimes struggles and is not overly confident with her reading ability.  My son tended to do things by rote instead of seeing actual retention taking place, he had fun with it and the games, but I’m not sure if I showed him the word dog or man if he’d recognize it.  Overall, the program is good but it’s not for every child and with the cost involved I’d definitely want to make sure that it’s something my child would stick with for the long term.

If you’d like to see what other homeschooling parents thought visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.

**Disclaimer:  As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

Photobucket

