GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Full Disclosure by Dee Henderson

on September 15, 2012

 

About the Book:

 

Ann Silver is a cop’s cop. As the Midwest Homicide Investigator, she is called in to help local law enforcement on the worst of cases, looking for answers to murder. Hers is one of the region’s most trusted investigative positions.

Paul Falcon is the FBI’s top murder cop in the Midwest. If the victim carried a federal badge or had a security clearance, odds are good Paul and his team see the case file or work the murder.

Their lives intersect when Ann arrives to pass a case off her desk and onto his. A car wreck and a suspicious death offer a lead on a hired shooter he is tracking. Paul isn’t expecting to meet someone, the kind that goes on the personal side of the ledger, but Ann Silver has his attention.

The better he gets to know her, the more Paul realizes her job barely scratches the surface of who she is. She knows spies and soldiers and U.S. Marshals, and has written books about them. She is friends with the former vice president. People with good reason to be cautious about who they let into their lives deeply trust her. Paul wonders just what secrets Ann is keeping, until she shows him the John Doe Killer case file, and he starts to realize just who this lady he is falling in love with really is….

 

My Opinion:

 

I haven’t read Dee Henderson before but I’ve been told she’s a great author and her stories are wonderful so when I had a chance to be selected to be one of the few readers selected to read the book before it’s released (October 2012), I, of course jumped on it and was selected.  The book gripped me, in the beginning, I was turning and turning away until I started getting into the romance that begins between Ann and Paul.  I sort of lost interest at that part, it seemed like even when they were working a case one or the other was thinking of the other – and I’ll admit it was annoying.  Of course, Paul seemed way too perfect, his only ‘flaw’ being that he lived in an orphanage before being adopted by the Falcon family.

 

I’m not saying that this was a horrible read, it did take me at least two weeks to get through it – but as I glossed over the whole romance thing and focused on reading the investigation that was going on I was better able to read it.  The fact that their relationship centered wholly on the Lord was much appreciated, but I couldn’t relate to Ann in that she liked being single and told Paul that she didn’t want children.  When it’s hard for me to relate to characters it’s hard for me to get into their story and get lost in it.

 

Was it a good book?  Yes.  Could I have done without all the romance focus?  Yes.  Would I try another of Dee Henderson’s books?  Yes, for the simple fact that while I may not have 100% enjoyed Full Disclosure I’m not one to write off (no pun intended) an author entirely because of one book.  I liked the strong faith of the characters, they weren’t afraid of being Believers because that’s who they are, I liked the suspense and the turns in the story so with that said I did enjoy the book even if it did take me longer than usual to read it.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this ARC from Bethany House in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

