GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

My new journey on feeling better! #shapelygirl

on September 28, 2012

If you all have been reading my blog at all – you’ll know that my weight has been a struggle.  We’re supposed to be honest and I’ll share that at my last doctor’s appointment I weighed in at 256 – according to charts I’m supposed to weigh around 145.  I remember when I had to lose 10 pounds to get in the Navy – it’s always been a struggle for me.  I’ll share a couple of my measurements – my upper arm measures at 17 1/2 inches, my hips at 54 inches (Yikes, no Scarlett O’Hara, am I?) and my waist is 45 1/2 inches.  So, okay that’s my honesty for today 😀 and I probably won’t share my measurements each week but more of how I’m feeling physically or how my clothes are feeling.

Here I am with my children, I’d like to look a little bit more fit.

I don’t weigh myself at home though because I hate our scale – so I’ll be using my measuring tape and the feel of how my clothing fits to really get a feel of how I’m doing.  I’ve agreed to use my new DVD called Shapely Girl Walking Fit and Fabulous  three days a week for each week of October and each week I’ll post on how I’m doing.  So the schedule will be something like this:

  • Week 1: October 1st – 7th (initial post)
  • Week 2: October 8th – 14th
  • Week 3: October 15th – 21st
  • Week 4: October 22nd – 28th
  • Week 5: October 29th – 31st (wrap up)

I have also been diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes and high cholesterol.  I spent two years on a cholesterol med which did nothing, and actually my cholesterol climbed higher so this year I told my doctor no more – it’s costing money and it’s not doing anything.  She agreed with me.  My goal with being a part of this Crew of ladies is not to lose weight, but to get me to a point where my cholesterol is naturally lowered and get off my oral diabetic medication – and if I lose weight that’s all the better.  I often lose weight then gain it back, and with the holiday’s fast approaching I need to get to work and I also want to set a good example for my children who are fast following my path of a sedentary lifestyle.  Debra Mazda also has some delicious looking recipes that I hope to try during the course of this journey.

So as I embark on this journey, I’d love to have your prayers, to keep strong – even on the days I wake up sore.  I am hoping that this DVD will inspire as it’s full of shapely ladies, like me, who want to be healthy even if they don’t meet the world’s definition of beauty and skinny.  I am who God made, and that will always be a plus sized woman, but I can be a fit plus sized woman ready to be a better wife, mom and ready to serve Him!

 

Marine Corp Nomads is hosting a Fitness Friday link up so you can find all of us ladies who are participating and see how we are ‘shaping’ up.

**Disclaimer:  As part of the CWA Blog Review Crew I received a copy of the DVD for the purposes of this review, no other compensation was given.

13 responses to “My new journey on feeling better! #shapelygirl

  1. I will be praying for you. And I am intrigued by a video program that actually has other shapely women in it! That’s a first, isn’t it?

  2. Sarah Bailey says:

    Hi Dawn, thank you. Me too, that’s why I really wanted to do this, I’ve done other DVDs but they’ve always had skinny women who were once ‘fat’ so I never felt great about doing them.

  3. Susan says:

    LOVE Debra’s dvds!! You can do it!

    • Susan says:

      Also forgot to mention, look into niacin to help lower your cholesterol. I know a few people that use it with great success. Be sure to discuss it with your doctor first. ;o)

  4. Leah says:

    Hi Sarah,
    I love Debra’s workouts and encouraging words. I have recently lost 45 pounds, with God’s help. I will be praying for you and following your journey. You can do this!

  5. I’ll be praying for you as we start this journey as a team.

  6. Hi Sarah – you and I will be working on the same DVD so that will be really good. We can compare notes. =D I have some health issues (Fibromyalgia) and so I have a good idea where you’re coming from. It’s hard when you are dealing with other stuff besides just the weight.

    I’m pulling for you – good luck!

    Tina ‘the book lady’
    http://givingnsharing.blogspot.com

  7. Glad to be part of the team. Praying for us all. 🙂 Great post

  8. Crystal B. says:

    You will be able to do it! (and what is scary, we have nearly the same exact measurements…) So glad we are on this review together! Praying for you and everyone else on this journey.

  9. […] hoping that if you’re following my blog that you’ve read my first post: My new journey on feeling better and if you haven’t go ahead and read it first.  Well I was aiming to do my 3 times a week […]

  10. […] bonus walk and cool-down.  I get a workout in and get a good sweat going.  You can read about my introduction and my week 1 experiences if you want to catch […]

  11. […] to measure myself since I hadn’t measured myself since I did the Shapely Girl group back in September of 2012.  You can click that link or search for ShapelyGirl on my blog and the posts will come up.  So […]

Comments are closed.
