GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

TOS Crew: Music Together

on September 30, 2012

In our house we enjoy music – my husband can play drums and the guitar and a little piano, I prefer to sing and listen.  My 8 year old has a penchant for getting a tune and recognizing a song upon hearing it only once – she can also tell Vivaldi from Mozart.  I was excited to get the Music Together which is geared for all ages up to age 7 and is an internationally recognized music and movement  program.  Started in 1987, “it pioneered the concept of a research-based, developmentally appropriate early childhood music curriculum that strongly emphasizes and facilitates adult involvement.”  So I had great ideas on how to use this with my children!

I was given the Music Together Family Favorites CD that has songs like: Hello Song, Biddy Biddy, John the Rabbit, One Little Owl and 15 more songs – you can listen to samples here or you can purchase it for $14.95.  It comes with an included 32 page booklet that gives simple ideas for movements and activities relating to the songs and can be used in the car or home-school.  Even though this is geared towards ages up to 7 all of my children quickly became bored with the music and my oldest found it to be annoying, as did my husband who asked me politely not to listen to it while he was with us.

The other component I was given is the Family Favorites Songbook for Teachers which sells for $29.95 and this was by far my favorite of the set – I loved all the information given in this book, including the printed music for the accompanying CD.  I’m a firm believer in music really does help a child excel in academics and even in life and this book really drove that idea home for me.  Divided into three sections: the opening that goes over the Music Together approach, how to use instruments and props and more, the middle section which gives teaching ideas for all ages and settings, infants, preschoolers and older children and special needs children, the final section includes more information about the Music Together program and how to become involved.

For my purposes I used the book to glean ideas on how to use this with my children, focusing mainly on my 6 year old and he loved the instruments including when I’d let him bang on some pots and pans to make his ‘music’ for the song Playin’ in the Kitchen.  As I said above, my children (including 6 year old son) quickly found the CD to be annoying – and I don’t know if that is because they’ve been exposed to Classical, Hymns and other high quality music from uteri until now – or not but they didn’t agree with me that the music was fun to dance along with of course I have what Music Together labels the “silly quotient” when it comes to music.

Keep in mind that I don’t have preschoolers or infants and I honestly think that parents who do have children in these ages, or children who are special needs, would find this to be well worth their time and investment.  The CD is wonderfully produced and is clear and crisp, the book gives so many ideas and the posters that are included are beautiful renderings that I enjoyed looking at as I went through the book.  I think if parents who aren’t sure how to introduce music to their young children will find this book and CD very user friendly and easy to implement, but I would start young.  Overall, I really liked the program and if my children were younger they would have enjoyed it more as well.  You can read what other homeschool parents are saying at the Schoolhouse Review Crew and if you have any questions about their program or becoming involved you can contact Music Together.

****Disclaimer:  As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

Photobucket

