GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

TOS Crew: Box of I.D.E.A.S; WWII – Pearl Harbor

on October 5, 2012

To me when I think of box curriculum I think of boring and not at all adaptable to each individual child, but no more with Box of I.D.E.A.S it brings a box of curricula alive and of relevance to today’s child in a way that engages and keeps them occupied and wanting to learn.  I received the WWII box based on Pearl Harbor, as my oldest said she was interested in studying this, but it’s so much more than just Pearl Harbor!

You may be wondering what you have to buy in addition to the box, and the answer is, nothing.  All you need is a pencil or pen – the only other two needed materials for the WWII box is a pair of scissors and a ruler.  I love the fact that there is nothing more to buy in order to use the packets, they come in large plastic bags which are easy to grab and go in you want something transportable.  You can purchase extra student modules which are copies of the consumables if you have more students who want to join in for $4.00.  The recommended age is 9 to 12 but it is fully adaptable for any child if the parent decides to do so.

 

To give you an idea of one of the modules in the WWII box – the module for “Day of Infamy” includes the introduction, extensions, weblinks, time and words in the Day of Infamy speech, Day of Infamy speech and FDR’s original notes, and 40 The Longest Morning activity cards with instructions.  My children learned about Pearl Harbor before it was a base, something we don’t always think about, we just somehow believe it was also there.  Before the attack, day after the attack,  a year after the attack, victory over Japan and decades after the attack and more are all covered in these modules.

This wasn’t something I scheduled into our day – all my children wanted to participate so I tried to include even my 6 year old when I could.  We also aren’t studying this period in history – but my children all seemed to be very interested – these are truly grab and go modules.  We would pull out a module if we needed to fill a spare moment or if I knew we’d be waiting awhile for an appointment, all I needed to make sure was that I had the pencils, the module (being in a plastic bag helps keep it neat and clean and undamaged) and anything that needed cut or put together before hand, which wasn’t a lot.

We haven’t worked on every module as there were some that needed more work than others and there were some like the activity cards that we turned into games that we enjoyed playing over and over.  There are 10 modules in the Pearl Harbor box, each bag has a label on the outside detailing what’s inside, what materials you’ll need (pen, pencil, ruler, scissors) and also a quote.  One way that’s suggested we could use the quotes is as copy work, expository writing or as a discussion starting point – which is how I used it as some of my children don’t like writing while another already has a lot of ‘extra’ writing requirements. There are also worksheet pages that can be used as extra practice for what they’ve learned and put into a portfolio to show their work or a scrapbook of their accomplishment.

There are other modules like quilting, salt, and laundry as well as some soon-to-be released boxes like cemeteries and pine.  I’m looking forward to trying out more Box of I.D.E.A.S in the future, whether you use it like we did to fill in spare time with something educational or to take a break from your regular schedule, there are many ways to use the box you chose.  If you’d like to contact Box of I.D.E.A.S you can do so using their contact page – and they have some great customer service.   If you’d like to see what homeschool parents thought of Box of I.D.E.A.S visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.

****Disclaimer:  As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

Photobucket

