GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

As We Forgive by June Foster

on October 12, 2012

 

About the Book:

Tim Garrett saw Jess Colton back to health in Give Us This Day but can’t control his own life. Tim wants nothing more than to serve God as a pastoral counselor, but first must prove to the staff and elders at Bellewood Fellowship he can handle the job he was hired to do — work with the senior high youth.

Roxanne Ratner’s father abandoned her when she was ten, and now she doesn’t trust men. They’ll only hurt her like her parent did. She fills the empty place in her heart with shopping for designer clothes. Though the perky young hairstylist falls in love with the Tim, she must keep her distance from the handsome pastor.

Despite Tim’s efforts to prove himself on the job, everything works against him bringing him closer to dismissal. Tim has one last chance at Camp Solid Rock. When Tim learns a frightening secret from his youthful adversary, can Tim make a difference? Can Roxanne risk giving her heart to Tim?

About June Foster:

I’m a retired teacher and travel full time with my husband in our RV. I began writing Christian fiction in January, 2010. My hope is to minister to Christians who struggle with the same issues as my hero and heroine.

From June’s blog.

My Opinion:

I wasn’t sure what to think when I began this book, having never read June Foster before I was definitely delighted to know that her writing is real and there is nothing fake in it.  As We Forgive has characters that are real and that struggle with daily living and dying to their sins every….single….day – just like Christians in real life.  I didn’t read the first book but that is going to be rectified, however it was easy to just jump in and get to know Tim and the other characters that come along in this book, June weaves anything the reader needs to know seamlessly into the story without feeling like you did miss something.

Usually when I read a book where a pastor is struggling it seems superficial and forced, but not with Tim, his struggles are real and dealing with them proves not to be easy, as some books would make it seem.  He realizes he can’t do it on his own and needs the Lord.  Roxanne, at first seems a little needy and whiny, but once you see past the character’s exterior the rest falls in place and she feels real with her struggles.  I could feel myself relating to the characters, both the adults and the teens, it was like wow! I know I struggle but this book makes it seem like I can overcome, where other books leave me feeling bad about having a struggle at all.

If you’re looking for a real book but fictional then check out June Foster’s As We Forgive, it will be a book that will keep you turning your e-pages late into the night as you seek to know what these characters discover about themselves and just how God fits into their lives.  Just as June says in her bio, she hopes that her stories minister to Christians who struggle, she definitely accomplishes this with a deft manner and one that should keep her readers coming back for more.

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this e-book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

Leave a comment on this review for a chance to be entered into the As We Forgive Blog Tour Giveaway.  Our prize pack includes two sets of handmade cards (one monogrammed, one miscellaneous cards) A San Juan Island Pendant, and a Amazon Gift Certificate for $10.00.   Visit June’s Blog (http://junefoster.blogspot.com) for more chances to enter during the tour September 17th thru October 15th.  Deadline to Enter will be October 18th.  The winner will be announced on October 20th.

4 responses to “As We Forgive by June Foster

  1. June Foster says:

    Sarah, thank you for the review. I hope Roxanne and Tim’s story will help others. June

  2. I think this will be a good book. Would like to win it. Maxie ( mac262@me.com )

  3. mongupp says:

    i also enjoyed this book! Especially the foot washingn scene. Beautiful!

  4. Good job Sarah. It sounds like a good book to have. Most of us have needed to forgive someone. By the way, I love your name. I want to try for this book. Maxie ( mac262@me.com )

Comments are closed.
