GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Homeschool Mother’s Journal – 10/12/12

on October 12, 2012

 

In my life this week…..

Things are getting back to normal.  There were some family things going on that I helped with.  My mom had me go with her and my brother after she made the difficult decision to put her dog to sleep – she lost most of the use of her back legs, going blind and incontinent.  If you scroll down, you can also see I’ve had a lot of reviews I had to get posted!

 

In our homeschool this week…..

 

My girls took their semester two test in Mystery of History Volume 2 and all three children moved on to Quarter 3!  We are halfway through with Volume 2, it’s hard to believe but they are all learning so much.  We are also still ahead in our Apologia science and Bethanne is doing well in Latin while Hannah has asked when I’m going to start their Spanish again.  Christian has begun the IEW PAL reading and writing curriculum and has the sounds for c, o, a, g, d and u down!

 

Places we are going and people we’re seeing……

 

The girls had dance this week, we had Christian take a break from karate this month so hopefully he can go back in November with a renewed vigor for learning.  We are taking a field trip to a creek where we’ll be learning about some fossils to be found and then going on a fossil hunt!

 

My favorite thing this week……

Seeing letter sounds finally click with my son!

 

Things I’m working on……

I’m trying to sell un-needed curriculum so I can earn money for field trips and Christmas.  Also working on Christmas gift ideas and the gifts themselves.  I’m also on a special Crew of ladies who are using the Shapely Girl DVD’s and I am working on doing that 3X a week!

 

I’m reading……

Christmas at Holly Hill by Martha Rogers

Where the Trail Ends by Melanie Dobson

Queen of the Waves by Janice Thompson

 

I’m praying for…….

My brother and my mom.

My friend and her family who are going through a tough time right now.

 

A photo to share….

My oldest’s first completed embroidery project that she made for her pen pal.

