GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Week 2 updates for being a #ShapelyGirl

on October 15, 2012

Who had thought I’d actually like to sweat?  Not me.  Even when I was in boot camp I avoided exerting too much energy into anything physical – not good when it came time for testing!  Anyway, I must say that I got in all three workouts last week and even got my first one in this week!  I did it Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday as hubby was off on Monday, but he did set up the extra DVD player so I can work out now even with him home! Friday was a field trip so no time to exercise but since we were out walking and fossil hunting I still got plenty of exercise!

I’ve been doing the Walking Fit and Fabulous DVD and I love the pre-mixes – there are four of those broken down into 32 minutes, 16 minutes, 50 minutes and 12 minutes.  What I like is that there is something for everyone on this DVD – you can chose to do the full workout or do a pre-mix, which is what I did last week with time constraints.  I really enjoy the 16 minutes which is a warm up, bonus walk and cool-down.  I get a workout in and get a good sweat going.  You can read about my introduction and my week 1 experiences if you want to catch up.

Has it been easy?  No.  One day I woke with a stiff neck/shoulder and sinus pressure.  I worked out and my stiff neck/shoulder eased up and lessened through  out the day!  Praise the Lord for natural cures – if I had gone to the dr I would have been given a muscle relaxant and as much as I wanted to go to the chiropractor the extra $$ wasn’t here.  I’ve also noticed that my internal clock is getting me up at about 7 a.m. each morning!  Usually I don’t roll out of bed until about 8 or 9 a.m. depending on when or if hubby rouses me before he leaves!  Now I’m waking him with my noise of starting laundry and coffee!

Another great thing to share is I’m losing inches, not nearly as much as I’d like, but then again I haven’t been watching my food closely either 😦 which I’m working up to changing again.  If you read my introduction post you can read the numbers I gave you and if you’d like here is a drum roll…….. My new numbers (I didn’t weigh myself today) are:

upper arm:  16 inches  (-1 1/2 inches)

hips:  52 1/2 inches (-1 1/2 inches)

waist:  44 inches (-1 1/2 inches)

WooHoo!!!!  I must say I could tell the difference when I slipped on one of my skirts the other day that fit snugly and it was easier to zip and I didn’t feel like I had to hold my breath all day!  So it’s working and I must say I like working out with Debra and the other ladies, especially knowing there 26 other women who are doing the same thing with me!

I’m linked up over at Marine Corps Nomads for her ShapelyGirl fitness link up!

**Disclaimer:  As part of the CWA Blog Review Crew I received a copy of the DVD for the purposes of this review, no other compensation was given.

Also linked up at:

6 responses to “Week 2 updates for being a #ShapelyGirl

  1. Way to go!!!

    Isn’t it great to get that sweat on…and then be rewarded so nicely?!

    Keep it up! =)

  2. A Proverbs 31 Wife says:

    Yay for losing inches! I am to chicken to even weigh or measure lol. Waiting till the end of the month.

  3. Laraba says:

    Great job! Please keep posting because it is inspiring to me. I don’t have the weight issue but I sure do have diabetes and I really MUST start exercising regularly. I keep putting it off. Today I’m battling asthma so just cannot do it, but as soon as I am better I am going to start exercising. I am, I am!!

  4. […] was only able to work out once last week – once!  If you read Week 2 you’ll see that I wanted to increase my workout length as well as how many days I did it in a […]

Comments are closed.
