GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Kombucha!!!!!

on October 24, 2012

After several tries and several different SCOBY’s I’ve finally, successfully brewed my first batch of Kombucha.  If you don’t know what Kombucha is there is a good article at Keeper of the Home as well as doing your own research – but Kombucha has many health benefits and it really does taste yummy.

 

So I started this successful batch last Sunday so it’s been brewing about 9 days and it’s just right.  A friend told me to try it after 2 to 3 days to see if I like it better.  I’m brewing quart jars right now – hopefully I’ll get a big enough SCOBY to do a gallon at a time or multiple quart jars as I know this is going to become a daily drink for me if it keeps being this successful.

 

So here are the pictures from this week’s batch:

 

The top view – my friend says that the white stuff is the new baby SCOBY growing 🙂 so that’s good, I was thinking it might have been mold at first.

 

The front view. Isn’t it beautiful? Once I filtered out the SCOBY you could see the bubbles fizzing but I didn’t get a picture of that.

 

 

I started my new batch tonight, another quart sized jar, and I’ll test it in 2 to 3 days to see if I like it better and the children as well.  None of them really wanted it but my son did taste it.  I’m not sure if I want to mess with adding juice as that raises my blood sugar so we’ll see.  My friend did mention a double ferment which I may try once I get a good supply established and make sure my SCOBY keeps going 😀

