GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Read Aloud Challenge

on October 31, 2012

It’s been a while since I’ve participated but over at Footprints in the Butter blog she has the read aloud challenge up and since I’m lacking on things to write I thought I’d join in again.  One thing I’ve aimed to do this year was do more read aloud books that coincide with our history studies, to really make things come alive for all the children.

The most recent one we read yesterday and today was Leif the Lucky by Ingri and Edgar D’Aulaire.  There were fabulous illustrations and it was a very good read that went along well with our studies of Leif, his dad, Eric the Red and Greenland – as well as learning that before Christopher Columbus another man landed on and name America.

The other book we read and finished this week was First Impressions of God, or Emily Tappan’s Story by Ann R. Wells.  I’m not going to go to in depth as I will be doing a review soon – suffice to say this is an excellent book!

We’ve also been reading Grace Raymond by an unknown author.  Again, I can’t go into much detail except to say it’s also enjoyable and very character building.

We have been listening to the Sugar Creek Gang as well and if you’d like to see more of my thoughts on those audio CD’s see my TOS review of  Volume 1.

We almost began a book titled Shadow Spinner by Susan Fletcher but after only a few pages I became uncomfortable in reading it aloud to my 6 year old son and my 8 year old daughter.  It had some mature themes such as harem life, and talk of virgins – so I told my 10 1/2 year she could read it with the caveat that she knows she can come to me with questions and she can stop anytime.  She has decided to not finish it, which I think is a great decision.  I think this may have been a great book but not as a read aloud for younger children.  So we’ll be choosing one of the other books I have checked out from the library to read as a family.

