GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

TOS Crew: Beloved Books: Sugar Creek Gang audio CD Volume 1

on October 31, 2012

I enjoy reading to my children, from the moment they were born I was reading to them.  I have enjoyed books for many years, and I think that stems from my mom having read aloud to my brothers and I from our youngest years.  Even my oldest, at 10 1/2, still enjoys it when I get a great book from the library and we begin, as a family to enter a new world.  Of course, there are times when I can’t read – I may be feeling ill, or driving, or need to get something done around the house and that is where Beloved Books comes into play.

I must admit I’d never heard of the Sugar Creek Gang but when I had the chance to be included on the group to review these audio stories I became very excited.  My children and I love and enjoy listening to audio stories and the Sugar Creek Gang is no exception – my only regret is not having heard of this series before now!  I received Volume 1 which has six stories that are narrated and produced by Paul Ramseyer and were originally written in book form by evangelist, Paul Hutchens.  The six stories on this volume are:

  1. The Swamp Robber
  2. The Killer Bear
  3. The Winter Rescue
  4. The Lost Campers
  5. Chicago Adventure
  6. The Secret Hideout

Each volume has six stories on 12 CD’s and there are six volumes that will give you over 100 hours on 72 CD’s.  I’d pop a CD in while driving somewhere or if we needed a break from our regular school day and we were still learning.  There is nature study going on, as well as Christian and godly character traits, Scripture verses, poetry, adventure and much more in these stories.  Even though the main characters are all boys, my girls loved listening to the stories and I must admit hearing the story of one of the boy’s dad’s giving his life to the Lord choked me up – not good while you’re driving!

If you want your child to step back in time, and enter a way of life where wrong is wrong and right is right.  Standing up for those who are in need, sharing the love of Christ and not being afraid of being a boy who goes to church – then the Sugar Creek Gang audios are a great choice.  Good for all ages, my children are 6, 8 and 10 1/2 years old, and they were enjoyed by all – including me (my husband isn’t in to audio adventures as we are) and it’s available for $54.95 with free media rate shipping.  If you’d like you can also buy the first story, The Swamp Robber, for $4.95 plus free shipping so you can try before you buy.  I cannot say enough how much we did and are continuing to enjoy these CD’s and my son is even requesting other volumes for Christmas!

If you’d like to see what other homeschool parents are saying about the Sugar Creek Gang audio CD’s visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.

****Disclaimer:  As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

Photobucket

