GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

2012 Gratitude Challenge – Day 1

on November 1, 2012

A friend of mine and fellow blogger is hosting her Gratitude Challenge again this year – the intent is to get everyone thinking of something that they are thankful for every day of the month.  Anyone can join in, blogger or not, so if you want to visit Garden of Learning.

This shouldn’t be hard, but honestly it is.  I think because I have so much to be thankful for that it can be overwhelming in that I don’t know where I should start.  When I think of others who aren’t as blessed as I have been or when I think of those so affected by Hurricane Sandy my heart aches.  With so much destruction this close to Thanksgiving I can only imagine having no home or table to call my own and not being able to look past, where am I going to sleep this night, how do I get clean water, and all that comes with the destruction of everything you own.

So I think I’m going to start out my first thankful post by saying:

I’m thankful that I live in a country where I can worship, praise and rely upon a living God to get me through tough times as well as be there for me in good times – but that He loves me and really does care what happens to me and all His children!

So that is my thankful for today.  Please don’t forget to join me in prayer to the Living God for all those so affected by Hurricane Sandy.

4 responses to “2012 Gratitude Challenge – Day 1

  1. Darcel says:

    Amen to that! I have a lot to be thankful for, but lately have been focusing on what I don’t have, what I want, or think I need.

    • ohiosarah says:

      Darcel, thank you for visiting and commenting. I know, it’s hard. I keep thinking of the new Kindle Fires and while my ‘old’ one is fine it’s the “I want” mentality and I have to be careful not to let it take over. I have a couple friends who are going to give birth anyday and I could easily let myself get down the “why not me, Lord?” but instead I make myself be excited for them – not what my flesh wants to do but what I need to do.

  2. Ginny says:

    We are so blessed to live in such a country. A wonderful thing to start the Gratitude Challenge with. Also joining you in prayer for those affected by the storm.

  3. Awesome thing to be thankful for! Thanks for stopping by and linking up. 🙂

Comments are closed.
